Tell A Friend   Advertising Information  Contact Us  

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   DR1 Dominican Republic Forums > Travel > Airline Info

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 08-05-2003, 12:22 AM
Bronze
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 98
avionics Level 1 (10)
Default Fina Airlines

Fina airlines is planning to start its reservation system mid-August. I got this from Fina's through an email enquiry (see their website for email adress)

On their webpage they mention round-trip fare of $99 (restrictions) from Puerto Rico to Santo Domingo. I don't know what the regular fare will be.
  #2  
Old 08-09-2003, 01:11 PM
Silver
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 201
cara Level 1 (10)
Default

Fina is an Charter airlines, Fina can not fly regular to the DR.
  #3  
Old 08-12-2003, 01:37 PM
Bronze
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 98
avionics Level 1 (10)
Default

It looks like they will: www.fina-air.com
  #4  
Old 08-12-2003, 02:32 PM
DR1
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 4,302
Dolores Level 1 (37)
Default

Page showing Santo Domingo flights:

http://www.fina-air.com/destinations.htm
  #5  
Old 08-12-2003, 03:15 PM
eli eli is offline
Silver
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 372
eli Level 1 (10)
Cool

They can get in trouble for false advertising and perhaps even looking into internet fraud since they are publishing they are a properly certified carrier at this time and they are not they have no authority from F.A.A. to actively publish they duly authorized as an air carrier.
  #6  
Old 08-13-2003, 12:19 AM
Bronze
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 98
avionics Level 1 (10)
Default

eli, please elaborate on your accusation that Fina is a fraud. I would like to hear that one! LOL!

Go Fina!
  #7  
Old 08-13-2003, 11:01 AM
Silver
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 201
cara Level 1 (10)
Default

Avionics
I agree with Eli, maybe here in this forum is lot of person who dont konw about aviation regulations and say a lot of stupied thing.
  #8  
Old 08-13-2003, 11:04 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 1,284
carlos Level 2 carlos Level 2 (107)
Thumbs down

you see the problem?


comments like "Go Fina" or this is a "fraud" with no explanations is what makes threads go south.

this better change or this thread will be the next victim.
  #9  
Old 08-13-2003, 11:09 AM
Silver
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 201
cara Level 1 (10)
Default

Avionic
I dont konw much about aviation, please tell me how they will fly to the Dominican Republic, under what figure.
  #10  
Old 08-13-2003, 10:52 PM
eli eli is offline
Silver
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 372
eli Level 1 (10)
Red face

Avionics:
Here goes, the first six words on the Fina website state they are a liscensed passenger airline this of course is being distributed over the world wide web.

1) Fina has yet to receive F.A.A. air carrier certification from their local FSDO that's short for flight standards district office just in case you did not know.
2)They have yet to receive full approval for their operations, maintenance, andtraining mannuals.
3)Then comes the good part which is 25 hours of proving runs with the certification team from their local FSDO(i hope you know what that means by now) which ultimately becomes their survaillanceteam they are called PMI,POI,and a principal avionics inspector.
During these proving runs discrepancies are found and they are to be corrected before a final certificate is issued, after this certificate is issued it only entitles the certificate holder for ON DEMAND OPERATIONS wich is not what they are publishing.
4)To 5 or more round trips per week in an aircraft of more than 10 passenger seats you need to be certified under the F.A.R. 121 regulations which is not the process being followed in this case.
So my friend by actively publishing in their website that they are licensed and by publishing 5 or more round trips in advance where it states days and times constitutes false information given out to the public.

Cmedina:
I apologyze if my previous post was misleading i hope this helps to clarify any doubts.
Closed Thread

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

The contents of this webpage are copyright © 1996-2008.  DR1. All Rights Reserved.


Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO