Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: US cell phone works in Punta Cana???

Bronze
    Post Thanks / Like

Default US cell phone works in Punta Cana???

I just got back from a weeks vacay in Punta Cana. Had family come in from the US and decided Punta Cana would be best. Anyway one of my family members has service with AT&T and while they were in Punta Cana they were able to use their cell to call and send texts. On their phone it came up saying Orange network. Just curious though if they will be paying at a "roaming" price for these calls and texts. I have no experience/knowledge of this so if anyone knows I would appreciate it. Thanks much!!!!

Gold
    Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by keepcoming View Post
    I just got back from a weeks vacay in Punta Cana. Had family come in from the US and decided Punta Cana would be best. Anyway one of my family members has service with AT&T and while they were in Punta Cana they were able to use their cell to call and send texts. On their phone it came up saying Orange network. Just curious though if they will be paying at a "roaming" price for these calls and texts. I have no experience/knowledge of this so if anyone knows I would appreciate it. Thanks much!!!!
    Be prepared for the largest AT&T bill you have ever seen!
    Standard roaming charges with no international roaming plan cost you $2.29 a minute from DR.
    Text messages are .50/message.

Good luck!

tambo'

3. Likes keepcoming liked this post
    SKY
    Gold
    Post Thanks / Like

They will pay big time, believe me.

5. Likes keepcoming liked this post
    Regular
    Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Tamborista View Post
    Be prepared for the largest AT&T bill you have ever seen!
    Standard roaming charges with no international roaming plan cost you $2.29 a minute from DR.
    Text messages are .50/message.

Good luck!

tambo'
    Indeed...roaming charges are killer if you are unaware.

Gold
    Post Thanks / Like