Thread: Nursing Jobs in the Dominican Republic

Post Thanks / Like

Default Nursing Jobs in the Dominican Republic

I am a Canadian nurse looking to work in the DR. Anyone have any advice?

Platinum
    Post Thanks / Like

Welcome to DR1 - this question comes up from time to time so I suggest you search the forums and see what answers have been provided in the past.

Post Thanks / Like

I'll save you some time (although it would be well spent)

DON'T even think of it....

HB

Post Thanks / Like

Hi!

I`m new to here, so sorry if I sound like a broken record. I`ve been searching through the forums about nursing in DR, and it seems that most people keep saying to forget about it, because the pay is not worth it.

HOWEVER...I was wondering if there were travel nursing agencies that send nurses to work in DR, and they still get paid the normal North American salaries? I`m a nursing student interested in travel nursing, and Dominican Republic is a beautiful place, where I would love to work if there were Travel Nursing Agencies that send nurses there for contract working.
    If anyone has any information on that sort of thing, it would be much appreciated.
    Thank you very much for your time.

Post Thanks / Like

Oops...I've just stumbled across another thread that mentioned that travel nursing agencies no longer send nurses to Dominican Republic...however that post was three years ago and I'm wondering if things have maybe changed?
    In case anybody wants to tell me, it`s not worth it, "the pay sucks", or I will be treated like a bed-pan pusher, don`t worry about that... I`m looking to experience life and culture for a little while!

Gold
    Post Thanks / Like

Not sure how much culture you'll get at the end of a bedpan but have a look at Hogar Immanuel for handicapped children, part of Mustard Seed Communities. Certainly worthwhile work for a disadvantaged group.
    Mustard Seed Communities: Dominican Republic