Add Bookmark  Contact Us  

Write a Review Sample Review
 

Hacienda Tropical

Rating: Below average Phone: Website:
Location: North Coast Fax: E-Mail:
City: Puerto Plata Contact: Value for money: Below average
Food: Below average Decor: Below average Service: Above average
Comments:
My husband and I loved the Dominican Republic, but we would not stay at this hotel again. This hotel should never have been given a four star rating. The rooms and food are not even average, while the pools, bars and service are about average. The rooms have stained walls and broken down furniture. The buffet food is the same every day and it is not good. Whether its the dining room, the hotel room or the pool area, clean/fresh linens are a rarity, they are most likely stained and ripped.
Author E-Mail: [email protected] Review date: 04/14/2002

 

Comments

my time at hacienda tropical was fantastic. i went on the 20th august, the weather was great, a few showers due to the thunder storms nearby but nothing drastic... the sunnyteam entertainment staff were great, i spent most of my time joining in the activities, which i really enjoyed. sandwich, spongebob, spaghetti, lorenzo, ..... they were all brilliant. i miss them all. In the evenings after the nightly entertainment, i went to the bounty bar disco, dancing to 'gasolina' - wow i loved that song. i went on 2 excursions - the outback safari and ocean world. it was good to see how the people of dominican republic live, although we wish we had taken more for the children. The dolphin swimming at ocean world was superb, it was a brilliant experience, i enjoyed every minute of it. The only downside to my holiday was the food, i didnt feel that there was much of a variety to choose from... especially for children, but overall i had a fantastic holiday and i will definately return in the near future :)
Author: Christine Calder Posted at 6:13 09/11/2005
Author: Redd Posted at 11:21 02/9/2005
Author: Hayley Posted at 4:45 09/27/2004
I stayed at the hacienda tropical 3 years ago and found it wonderfull. The food was exotic and delicius! The staff very freindly and always at your service. There were birds flying about but what do you expect from an open dining area! No cockroaches in sight ever. It could use a little better housekeeping but other then that I enyed my time.
Author: jessica eckert Posted at 21:31 01/14/2004
That supposed to be a holiday to remember for us and our kids, instated was a 7 days long nightmare...My husband and I loved the Dominican Republic, but we would not stay at this hotel again. We found this hotel to be poor in the quality of their rooms and buildings in general. On third day my husband become seriously ill with a gastrointestinal problem, a spend 2 days in bed at the resort with IV and antybiotic..Kids were so scared that the can't enjoy their vacation anymore. Food was terrible, everyday the same menu, rooms are smelly and dirty, in the same condition are bathrooms. This resort its worthy 2 or less star. If you are thinking about nice and "clean" vacation don't you dare to go there...

AJK
Author: Agnes & Jack Posted at 12:03 09/30/2003
On Aug 25 2003 my husband and myself took a Vacation to one of your major hotels in the DR, "Ramada Hacienda".
We were completely appalled with the absolute unacceptable hygiene, safety and services that were provided to us and several other signature guests at the Ramada Hacienda between Aug 25th 2003 and Sept 1st 2003.

We booked our vacation that was sold exclusively through Signature , it was rated as a four star resort and upon our arrival we were given our resort bracelets which state the resort was three star resort!!!

1) We became ill with severe diarrhea that were treated by the Resort Doctor with antibiotics and other medications along with several other guests. We have now been back since Sept 1 2003 and my husband is still very ill as a result of this!!!

2) The resort lost power for several hours in the night and did not regain power again until late morning. Please note the resort also lost power continually throughout the week for short increments of time.

We did not have water a few times throughout the week, which at each time this was brought up to the front desk staff and they said they would send someone up to our room but by then, the water pressure had resumed. This was extremely inconvenient considering you do not want to spend your entire holiday in your room waiting for repairmen!!!!!

3) The Buffet restaurant was pretty well the same exact menu daily. Also there were birds and other insects that were roaming the dinning room tables and area at all times. The cleaning staff was ringing out the mops with their bare hands right in front of the guests at meal times.
* There were instances were there was no cutlery on the tables.
*coffee and tea were taken away in the afternoon. The hotel staff stated it was because they were afraid that due to the amount of guests that they would run out!!!


4) No fresh Bottled water was provided in our Rooms, nor was there a water cooler in our Building section.

5) No fresh/clean towels were provided daily in our room. We had to ask the maid and front desk several times to replenish our room with clean toiletries. Our bed sheets were not changed once during our entire stay!

6) Only half a roll of toilet paper was put in our room each morning, which is completely unacceptable especially when you are ill and the hotel management is aware of the situation.
*When we did request some additional toilet paper to be brought up to our room it took 1 1/2 hours before it was delivered.

6) Our shower was not cleaned daily. Long black hairs were being found in our room and bathroom but my husband and I both have Blonde hair.

7) Our room patio doors did not close shut all the way and air conditioner did not function all the time!

8) Our balcony rail bars were not secured properly. Which leaves it very unsafe for small children considering we were on the 3rd floor.

9) The lampshades in the room were broken and one lamp did not function.

11) There were cockroaches roaming the entire resort!!! Including our hallways, dinning areas, and washrooms. My huisband one evening had to excuse himself to go to the washroom. Once is the washroom he felt something on his feet and when he looked down he had approx 5 cockroaches on his feet!!! We had to put a towel in the front of our room door so they wouldn't come into our room at night. When we would wake up in the morning they would be outside our door. Please also note this was mentioned with the resort staff and management and they said that the building was going to be sprayed but upon our departure these bugs were still apparent!

12) The resort staff walks around persuading guest to go on a resort tour and if they do so they will get a free gift. Upon going on this so-called tour we realized that this is a time-share / Lifestyle Vacations sales pitch were they try to get you to buy vacation time from them. The personnel from Lifestyle Vacations are very rude especially the management ( Larry ). This should not be aloud to be promoted by Ramada Hacienda. The Ramada Staff later told us that they get paid 10$ for each couple that they send!

14) Once the weekend arrived the resort seemed to be overwhelmingly overbooked with local guests that have arrived. This caused the buffet to be short of food, withhold refreshments such as coffee and tea. All the weekend activities were then conducted in Spanish only, which was also mentioned to the hotel manager " Jackie" and trying to get a drink at the bars was approx a 20 minute wait because the servers would serve all the local Dominican guests before us!!!

Overall the services provided by Ramada and Signature for the Ramada Hacienda Resort during our stay was completely unacceptable and not up to standards. If anyone else has stayed at the Ramada Hacienda and experienced the same horrific holiday, we would love to hear from you. Please feel free to contact me anytime at 519-620-4418.
Respectfully Yours

Chantal Demore,
Paul Demore

Author: Chantal Demore Posted at 12:10 09/10/2003
Author: Richard Posted at 8:38 09/6/2003
Hi all, my husband and i just returned from the hacienda tropical in PP, Dr. This is my four visit to the DR. but my first to the Hacienda.
First I would like to say that I love the DR and its people very much.
Second, the resort was satisfactory, but my vaction was fabulous..thats because my husband and I made it that way.
The hotel was very boring...there was hardly any entertainment and the food was ok. And I found the maid didnt give me any clean towels until I left a
tip in the room. I must say that ws the first time ever I felt pressured to tip in order to get clean towels.
Like any where else in the world, there are some good hotels and some bad...this one was somewhere in the middle. If you have already booked your vacation, go and have a blast...but if you havent and are considering this hotel...maybe you should stay at the sun village....its right beside this resort and its only a 3 star...and there was nothing but GOOD
reviews from this resort from some of the other people on the bus.
Author: SANDRA Posted at 19:19 09/4/2003
Holy crap - how can a person go through life complaining like that. I bet his wife is miserable. Michael Bates you need prozac before you go on vacation again.
Anyway, for all of you normal people out thier looking for a spectacular vacation, look no farther. I have just returned from the Hacienda Suites for the second time in the past 4 months. It was more spectacular the second time around and I'm sure that the 3rd trip will be even better. Check out the Hotels guest book - people don't make 8 trips to the same resort because it's a dump. This place is beautiful, the food is awesome - and THE STAFF IS THE GREATEST. The only negative part of my vacation was self inflicted sickness-
The drinks are very good, the sun is very hot, and the two don't mix well at all. Everyone needs to learn that the hard way it seems.
Author: JODI SCHILLER Posted at 2:20 05/31/2003
I was wondering whether the author (Michael Bates) of the comments above would be prepared to send me an email so I could discuss some of his comments?
Author: James Goodall Posted at 8:32 10/16/2002
My family spent a week at the Hacienda Tropical last year for a family reunion.

We found this hotel to be exceptionally poor in the quality of their rooms and buildings in general. The bathrooms in all of our rooms had a bad odor, and constantly had wet floors that were never corrected by management.

Toiletries were almost no-existent and when management was contacted nothing improved.

In the buffet area birds were constantly flying about, defecating and eating out of any plate that they could find. The food was below average and not very good.

On the last day of our stay I become seriously ill with a gastrointestinal problem that made it almost impossible to travel back to the states. This condition persisted for approximately two weeks and was diagnosed as a food contamination problem. Since we only ate at this resort there is no question that this problem originated there.

The cleanliness of the buffet serving area is terrible and should be monitored and corrected.

We did enjoy being in the Dominican Republic and plan to return again in the future. However, we will NEVER stay at this hotel again and will not recommend this establishment to anyone.
Author: Michael Bates Posted at 13:36 04/17/2002

Post comment

 

Message Boards  Classifieds  News Archive  Travel  Business  Living  Legal

The contents of this webpage are copyright 1996-2007.  DR1. All Rights Reserved.