Add Bookmark  Contact Us  

Write a Review Sample Review

Occidental Flamenco Bavaro

Rating: Excellent Phone: 809-221-8787 Website:
Location: Southeast Coast Fax: 809-221-8790 E-Mail:
City: Bavaro, Punta Cana Contact: Value for money: Excellent
Food: Excellent Decor: Excellent Service: Excellent
When I entered the hotel area, which is huge, I was amazed by the wonderful spirit of all of the staff and we were escorted to our rooms without delay. Immediately after this we started to enjoy the all inclusive resort. The rooms were huge with two queen size beds, air conditioning out side terrace, minibar and tv. The activities were great (which some you would have to pay for seperately) the beach was clean, white sand and i think there was a bar almost in every spot making it convinient if you want to have a few drinks. My family and myself had a great time, the kids get to stay in a kids club while the grown folks go out and have a good time . (Kids stay for free!!!) I would recomend this hotel to anyone who wants to have a great time in an inexpensive way.
Author E-Mail: [email protected] Review date: 04/21/2002



If your Royal Club, You don't have to worry about a thing! See you in March baby!
Author: Isabella Rolandini Posted at 19:57 12/2/2011
My son recently returned from his trip from your Punta Cana location and was covered in bed bug bites. This is unacceptable that we paid $1000 for him to travel as a high school graduation present and now it cost me additional money to have him treated for these bites. He had reservations for June 26th through July 3rd 2009. I had him to the ER the following day July 4- Firstly, he was to be in a room with 3 people- they were given a king size bed and 4 people in the room. The hotel clearly took advantage of the situation in dealing with young people who would not kow any better or how to handle this situation. A mattress was thrown on the floor for additional sleeping space which was obviously contaminated with bugs. We have traveled globally from South America to Phuket to Iceland and even Africa and I have NEVER encountered this problem. The Dominican Republic is notorius for its inexpensive all inclusives and you do get what you pay for but bed bugs are simply not acceptable. I emailed Liberty Travel and Prieto Tours about the complaint but there is little concern so the customer service aspect is out the window. I know the best thing I can do to help others avoid this health issue is to inform everyone I know of the bed bug infestation. Keep in mind I stayed in an Occidental hotel in Hammamet Tunisia Africa and LOVED IT.

Author: Pam Malfettano Posted at 0:14 07/8/2009
I never want to go to the Caribbean again, let alone ever want to visit this hotel. The service was poor; every guest that you spoke to had a complaint. Our main one was the fact that we paid for a platinum package upgrade that we never got. When we complained we were just fobbed off & nothing was ever done about it. I spoke to the manager of the hotel who was supposed to phone me back with a solution, but he couldn't be bothered to pick up the phone to make the call (charming). Some of the staff were rude, some were charming, and some just couldn't be bothered. The quality of the food was good although a little limited on the choice, it reminded me of school meals with the 2 sittings & nothing else permitted in between. After complaining to the hotel manager (it had got that serious by this time) you would have thought that our last day would be perfect with no problems but it was even worse. There were no pool towels in the room again (something we paid extra for) there were no clean towels left in our room after cleaning it & they had taken one of the light bulbs out, so much for speaking to the hotel manager !!
To sum up, I will not be going to the Caribbean again, the hotel needs to be painted, made waterproof & every thing that is hanging off the walls sticking back on, the management need to go to charm school, the workers need to pull there fingers out a bit more (only some of them) it needs to stop raining & I will NEVER repeat NEVER travel with Airtours again. I think this hotel in its present state needs downgrading from a 4 star prestige to a 3 star.
Author: Mick Posted at 13:27 11/16/2004
I stayed at the Occidental Flemenco Bavaro two years ago on my honeymoon. The place was beautiful. The staff was great and the food was excellent. I am actually on the site now looking to go back. I am seeing some negative feedback from people that stayed there, but what do they expect with the demand? When I was there I was in flood rains up to my knees, it was ROMANTIC. My husband and I splashed our way around the resort and having fun anyway. We ate three meals a day and enjoyed exotic coctails. We went to the spa and got a head to toe deep muscle massage for only $100 U.S. dollars. It was so good we couldnt even talk to eachother after! We went to the pool where we baked in the sun and forgot about all of our worries back home. The staff all around the place was ublelievable, it was hard not to tip them two and three times a day. We did taquila poppers with them, which are tequila shots with sprite and you make them fizz and drink them real fast. We met other couples there that got engaged while there and saw atleast three weddings. The entertainment was great and the whole atmosphere was completely ROMANTIC. There was stuff from, horseback riding, parasailing which is really fun and shopping. So much to do , too little time and thats why we are looking this very moment to go back and relive our honeymoon experience. We were sincerely and genuinely touched by the beauty of Punta Cana's Occidental Flemenco Bavaro.
Author: Dannielle Posted at 15:28 03/31/2004

My husband and I are two of Air Transat Holidays unfortunate clients who spent the week of November 7 to 14 in the Dominican Republic staying at the Occidental Gran Flamenco, Punta Cana. Their brochure and website rate this hotel as a four and half star property, but at the time of our visit it did not meet the standard of a three star property. At the time of our visit, the buffet, beach club and several restaurants were under renovation.
Our decision on this property was made based on the information in the Air Transat Holidays brochure and the Occidental Gran Flamenco website, neither of which mentioned any renovations. The renovations to the buffet resulted in the buffet being served in the stage area and the Grill Restaurant. There was not enough seating for the number or guests and because the buffet was divided into two sections; it was necessary to go to both lines to obtain a complete meal. The result was if you ate at the buffet, you had to wait for a table and stand in two lines to obtain your meal. Not once during our stay were we able to enjoy a hot meal from the buffet. We had to eat at dirty tables, surrounded by dirty dishes to consume lukewarm or cold meals.
It was very difficult to obtain a reservation to dine at the a la carte restaurants. The reservation system allowed only you to reserve for the current day or the day following. There was so much demand that all spots available were filled before 9:00am. During our stay, we were able to obtain reservations for only two dinners. For our meal at The Grill restaurant, my husband was served tenderloin of beef that was rancid. The staff at the restaurant were unapologetic and made no effort satisfy the problem. We reported this incident immediately to guest services at the hotel, but there was no further response from the hotel. It was at this time we tried to contact the Air Transat Holidays representative for Punta Cana, she did not answer at the number we had been given at any time between 7:30 to10:00 pm. We left a detailed message the following morning but received no response that day and the following day was her day off. If we had been able to contact her, we would have requested a change in accommodation. Since we were not able to do so we remained at the Flamenco, where the next morning a note under our door informed us that more renovations were planned which interfered with the operation of the both the Mexican and the Italian restaurant. That made all their restaurants under some degree of renovation with no clear plan on how to provide food services to their guests.
In addition to the problem with food services at the Flamenco, we had one complete day with no running water in our room and the service at the beach left much to be desired. Often we were not able to obtain beach towels, some days the wait was an hour, on others days the staff had no idea when more towels were coming. We had to keep our dirty towels or go without. The brochure advertises that windsurfing, kayaking, and sailing are included. During our stay, despite many requests we were never able to persuade the staff to put a sailboat in the water. The constant explanation was that it was either too windy or too wavy. The resorts on either side of us must have completely different weather as their sailboats and kayaks were constantly in the water. The beach staff at the Flamenco were interested only in selling us the motorized sports that were not included in our package.
If we had been informed about the renovations at the Gran Flamenco when we were making our reservation, we would have chosen a different property. I spoke directly with Air Transat reservations to assist in choosing a property because this was our first visit to the Dominican.
The other services we received from Air Transat for this vacation were exceptional; the staff at the Vancouver airport was helpful and polite. The flight crew on our flights were wonderful. The transfers worked smoothly and our accommodation in Vancouver was just as advertised. However, what should have been the best part of our vacation the time in Punta Cana fell far short of our expectations, because of the inferior food service and inadequate service at the beach.
I am sure that our complaint is not the only one they will receive about the problems at the Gran Flamenco, Punta Cana as there were many unsatisfied guests there. Neither the staff of the hotel or your representative in Punta Cana showed any interest in resolving any of the problems we encountered; we certainly hope that this is not indicative of your company policy. The problems at the hotel resulted in our having a vacation from hell instead of a vacation in paradise. The complaints we have expressed in this letter are a brief overview and do not constitute a comprehensive list of the problems we encountered at the hotel. If you wish to hear more details, please contact us and we will be glad to provide them.
Author: Sue Wilman Posted at 17:41 11/30/2003
I dont think i could say a bad thing about this hotel. When we got picked up from the airport i was abit worried as the place is quite run down but as soon as we arrived in the resort it all changed, it was your typical paradise holiday. We arrived about 10 am and the reception was lit with candles and looked lovely, we got our room very quickly. It did take a while to get use to what was free at what times but like all hotels you do need to ask. The staff were very nice and helpful though going out of the resort was horrible, the locals just swarm around you trying to sell you things. Going to your room the paths are also lit with candle so it is a very romantic place to be with your partner. The food was great and the beach was just how i'd except it to be beautiful. Even though alot of the excursions werent free they are well worth going on, mostly the party raft and swimming with sharks. i would recommend this resort to anyone and would go back.
Author: Jo Posted at 10:47 09/21/2003
We went to this hotel with another couple. We drove ourselves there and got lost because there is no signs for the hotel. The hotel is very big and has three pools, one with a bar you can swim to. You can have a safe key for an extra US$9 approx. We had a junior suite which had a balcony and a refrigerator with a gallon of water and other refreshments. No one really explained to us the events, what was when, etc. You pretty much have to investigate and ask at the reception desk alot, and sometimes they gave the wrong information. I speak sapnish fluently, so there was nothing lost in the translation. We missed some events, but you do have to pay extra for most of them. They have a gym inside the spa which is small. It has two treadmills, four bicycles, a couple of mats, a few free weights and poles and one bench. The buffet was good, but there was a lot of food that was not labeled and we didn't take a chance on trying it. There is alchol, drinks and food available basically all day, you just have to know where to go and when. The beach is nearby and is on the best side of the island, so clear water and clean sand. We did the snorkling, but did not bring a waterproof camera and they did not take a picture of us. I also got very sea sick after being one hour in the water, and my shoulders burned even though I was wearing sunblock 45 protection. The camcorder battery died so we have no proof of the wonderful experience of swimming with the fish. We also went parasailing which gives a wonderful 12 minute view of the beach, but the guys on the boat did not record us well in the whole 30 seconds he was filming. The nightly shows were nothing spectacular, and one night the theme was so sexually orientated, several familes had to leave. They do have a nice band and had a Gala night at the buffet where you dress up and every woman receives a rose upon entering. Making reservations for the special restaurants was a pain, and by the time we figured out we had to make them in the morning, we were only able to make one for the Italian restaurant. That restaurants menu was very confusing and it was not that much impressive. We were able to sneak in to the Mexican restaurant, and they served us a shot of Tequilla mixed with Sprite, which they shake, make you drink it fast and shake your head. It was fun. We also spent a wonderful day at the spa. For US$130 each, we received a body exfoliation, mud wrap, facial, pedicure, manicure and massage. The receptionist said the credit card machine jammed so the first transaction receipt was eligible. She said she would have to cancel the transaction and charge me again. Upon returning back from vacation, there was two charges for the spa and no cancelation transaction. When I examined closely the cancelation receipt I signed, the credit card number was not mine. Apparently, she swiped another card to make me think that the first transaction was cancelled. I was charged US$500 instead of the US$260 we had agreed on. Overall, it was a place to relax, work on your tan, and have fun.
Author: Anonymous Posted at 11:29 05/12/2003
This was one of the best hotels I have been to and I've been to a lot. I went with my best friend and there was lots to do for young people.The beach was absoultly beautiful. The food was ok. The daily entertainment was lots of fun The fun club were great a especially Elvis and Donkey. I Still kepp in touch with a few of them. they were so much fun and they made our trip very memorable. The nightly entertainment was quite lacking though. They had some good shows but they went on to long and became quite boring. The disco at the hotel was good but to many guys hit on us and it came quite annoying. The food was alright. The mexican and pizza place was great but the buffet could have been better. Overall it was a great vacation and i had a great time. I had so much fun I went again and im going back in february. I would recomend this place for anyone who is single or with someone because it is a very romantic spot.
Author: tamara Posted at 20:15 12/2/2002

Post comment


Message Boards  Classifieds  News Archive  Travel  Business  Living  Legal

The contents of this webpage are copyright 1996-2007.  DR1. All Rights Reserved.