Add Bookmark  Contact Us  

Write a Review Sample Review
 

Riu Merengue

Rating: Excellent Phone: Website: riuhotels.com
Location: North Coast Fax: E-Mail:
City: Puerto Plata Contact: Value for money: Above average
Food: Excellent Decor: Excellent Service: Excellent
Comments:
My Wife & I first visited the Riu Merengue in May 1998, we loved it, friendly staff, good food & accomodation, the private beach. We went again in 1999, we were greeted off the coach on arrival like old friends, amazing. We've since been in 2000 & 2002, we still love it. The only downside has been the growth of the "market stalls" on the public beaches either side, and the traders have become more aggressive.
We've tried the horse riding - hysterical, the white-water rafting - great fun, and the monster trucks - out into the wilds.
We'll be back.
Author: Annonymous Review date: 09/22/2002

 

Comments

Me and my family just arrived home from a holiday at Riu Bachata and it was the best holiday I'd ever been on, there was a wide range of food to choose from and the workers were really nice, tehre was a man that saved our table for us everyday in the resturant, he was called Almengo ^^ Also, the animation team were amazing, they're all really awesome, Harry Potter, Banana, Shakira, Bon-Bon, Chocolate, Spiderman, Miss Susy, Jack Daniels, and loads more, Spiderman was a bit too quiet though. Harry Potter was loudest, and he was really funny "OH MY GAWD," There was many things to do aswell, including beach volleyball, water aerobics, darts, pineapple bowling, etc. There was even a kids club :) There was a street to buy souvenirs, a casino (which my brother was extremely attracted to :P) and loads more, I would certainly recommend it. :)
Author: Posted at 7:31 11/17/2009
Just returned from holidaying at the Hotel Riu Merengue and had a fantastic time there with my son. We couldn't have asked for a better holiday. Thanks to all the wonderful people we met and the Animation Team, Mickey, Romeo and Shakira. We'll definitely be back. If anyone has a copy or knows the music they played. Let me know please I want to brush up on my Salsa and Spanish and the music will bring it all back. My son and I now have major holiday blues!!!
Author: Yasmin & Scott Posted at 9:11 10/25/2008
i just got back from riu bambu this morning and there were alot of songs i liked but i'm not sure how to spell 1 so i can put it on my ipod.. its something like alegria??
Author: brianna Posted at 22:02 06/8/2008
I went to the Riu Merengue 2 weeks ago it was a blast! there was 12 of us all together. everything was awesome. I couldnt have asked for a better holiday!. Id also like to thank Cessiboy. who was my bartender for the week. Battisa who was out server everynight and Macho Man Eddie Murphy and all the other staff that made the holiday a holiday!
Author: Kelly Posted at 20:45 03/5/2007
i visited the Riu Merengue away back in 1999 and i had a wonderful time, food was great, entertainment was great ans so were the excursions, been back to Dom Rep three times since to different hotel but nothing compares to RIU that much that i am getting married there this year and can't wait to introduce my son and step duaghters to the wonderful place i will keep posted on wddeing experience later this year
Author: pamela Posted at 21:48 01/15/2007
My husband and I stayed at Riu Merengue
Feb. 2004. I was violently ill on the third day of a two week stay. Hard to believe almost 2 years later people are still getting sick.
The fist day of my illness was the worst. I was ill for three straight days. I was vomiting and had diarrhea. I did not feel like myself until 6 days later. If were to fly out of the DR on the first day I could not have done it. I couldn't walk 10 feet without needing a bathroom. As another person said I wouldn't go back if you paid my flight and accommodation! Several people we spoke to at the resort were ill too, but not as severely as I was. I felt bad for my husband who couldn't leave the room (except to eat) and took care of me for three straight days. It is too bad because the beach area was beautiful - lots of shade and chairs and the resort in itself was nice. The food was disappointing. I would not recommend staying at any of the Riu hotels.
Author: MDobbs Posted at 13:04 12/17/2006
i have just returned from the most amazing holiday ever!! september2006!! Riu Merengue is fantastic! the place is like paradise. The three hotels and everything in between looks like a little village!the staff are wonderful,the food is fantastic,the watersports are even included!! The cleanliness is second to none! And to top it all off the weather was brilliant! i would recommed anyone to go. ''i want...i want to go to riu'' ''wahw''!!!!!
Author: Amanda McKeown Posted at 4:34 09/29/2006
I got married there in 2000 and loved the place so much I always want to go back. The staff had no other thought than to make our stay very pleasant and our wedding go off without a hitch. The Thomson rep was brilliant and a credit to his sometimes abused profession.. My thoughts will always take me back there. If you are unsure about going, my advise would be do it and I`m sure you won`t regret a second.
Author: John Regan Posted at 7:08 11/24/2005
it was our 25th wedding june 2005and one of the best holidays ever. i am a fussy eater and the food was great. the people are so friendly, and the staff were all very nice. will go there again soon.
Author: sheila Posted at 14:34 01/15/2005
We went August 2003 and June 2004.I will be back in 2005, can't wait.
Author: Luke and Mark Posted at 18:35 10/25/2004
As a family of five it was a great holiday. Loads for all to do. the hotel was absolutely immaculate and all safe both helpfull and friendly. The catering was exceptional and would suit all taste.We went on many of the trips and would highly recommend the Dolphin encounter rather than the swim, Monstor trucks is a great day just remember the children out in the country have very little and a good thing to take from home is paper , pens pencils the smiles these bring to the children is worth a million dollars. We have already booked to go back again and we cant wait
Author: kim Posted at 8:31 10/14/2004
me and my partner are going to the merengue to get married in novenber. has anyone else been married there that could tell us a bit about it and what to expect. thanx.
Author: lisa Posted at 14:58 09/20/2004
Riu Merengue....

My mother is flying out tomorrrow and I am worried about the hurricanes!

Anyone just returned.....
Author: Deborah Posted at 5:07 09/18/2004
I am thinking of going to Rui Merenue in late November early December, has anybody been at that time of year?
Author: JOANNE Posted at 8:00 09/7/2004
My wife and i stayed at rui merengue back in July 2000,we got married there and it was very special for us.The hotel was excellent as were the staff who all work very hard.We will be going back in the not too distant future.5*****
Author: JASON WALKER Posted at 12:30 09/1/2004
to the person that wanted the CD of the music they play @ riu Merengue..I have it!
I bought it 2 years ago.
you can get in touch with me through email and i'll get it for you.
Entertainment Riu Merengue Excellente Excellente!!!
Author: Raisa S Posted at 13:31 08/23/2004
We have just returned from the Rui Merengue with some friends(20/07/2004), and were very impressed by the overall standard of the complex. Having three large accommodation areas and the high volume of holiday makers within the complex, we thought that the staff were excellent in the way they dealt with a large number of guests.
The place was clean and tidy and the quality of food excellent. Plenty of places to chill out or join in the fun around the pool areas.
My daughter would like to know if anyone has a CD of the songs that they play out there all the time during the day and during the fitness classes, as she would like to buy one to refresh her memories of such a great holiday. We will be going back all 10 of us!!
Author: Mr & Mrs Day Posted at 11:40 08/12/2004
Any one been in the past few weeks? I will be going at the end of July and wonder about the effects of the storm.
Author: Rowan Posted at 14:08 06/11/2004
I am going back to the merengue for the second time on July 13 2004 in a party of 12.I am concerned about the latest tropical storm to have hit the Dom Rep.If anyone has just returned could they post a message here to let me know if it has effected the Hotel Riu Merengue please.Many thanks.
Author: sally mcdonald Posted at 10:43 05/28/2004
I HAD NEVER FLOWN BEFORE AND MY FAMILY AND I FLEW OUT TO PUERTA PLATA AND WE STAYED IN THE RUI MERENGUE....IT WAS THE BEST TIME OF MY LIFE AND I HOPE TO VISIT IT NEXT YEAR AGAIN!!! :)
Author: Amanda Spittler Posted at 10:04 05/11/2004
Author: maija, finland Posted at 8:22 03/29/2004
Me and my boyfriend have visited the Riu Merengue in Sept 1999. Loved it that much, we went back 2001, then when the Bachata opened we went there last year! Loved the Bachata, but ended up every morning for breakfast visiting the Merengue. It was like we had never been away! Hotel was excellent, staff were excellent, entertainment and entertainment staff were excellent! What I would LOVE more than anything is a copy of (or some names and ideas how to get them) the songs in which they played thruout the day. This would be graet to keep the memories. Hope someone can help! Thanks xx
Author: Kerry Posted at 19:59 01/26/2004
thank you to all the entertainment staff, especially jose (wink wink) pavorotti and alexandra! i love yaz all and miss u! ill be back soon! SPANISH LESSON!

Love ya!
Author: ? Posted at 8:06 01/7/2004
The riu Merengue is a fantastic hotel. i would just lie to say a massive thankyou to jose, Donkey, Pavorotti, Kelvin, Jerry, Spaghetti, Francessco (Francisco), Skarleth, Miguel and a big thankyou to our waiter 'Tavares'. I miss them so very much.

Entertainment Riu Merengue excellente excellente !
Author: AMY Posted at 11:02 01/6/2004
ME AND MY DAUGHTER HAVE JUST RETURNED FROM THE RIU MERENGUE WE HAD AN EXCELLENT HOLIDAY, MY DAUGHTER KEEPS STILL CRYING AS SHE MISSES ALL THE ENTERTAINMENT STAFF SO MUCH, THEY WERE SUCH A BIG PART OF HER HOLIDAY. THEY WORK SO HARD. EVERYBODY WHO WORKED AT THE RIU MERENGUE WAS SO NICE AND HELPFULL, THERE WAS NOT A SINGLE THING WRONG WITH THE HOLIDAY EVERYTHING WAS EXCELLENTEE EXCELLENTEE
Author: MICHELLE & AMY Posted at 4:39 01/6/2004
i would just like to say thankyou to every member of the riu merengue entertaintment team. you made my holiday the best 2 weeks of my life but i would like to say a special thankyou to skarleth and rafa who made the holiday extra special thanks cant wait to see you all again.
Author: natalie Posted at 14:55 12/18/2003
I was at Riu Merengue a month ago and had the best vacation of my life!
The place is beautiful, the staff is wonderful, the food was very good, especially the bread! But to me, the best was the entertainment staff. They were so much fun and they work so hard. My love goes out to them all:
Francesco, Spaghetti, Donkey, Raffa, Pavarotti, Kelvin, Skarlett, Diela, Rita, Jose, Miguel and most especially, Carlos, mi popi chulo. I cannot wait to go back and enjoy Paradise once more.
WEPA!!!!
Author: Junine Posted at 9:44 12/9/2003
My finace and I stayed at the merengue in January2002 and we coulnd't have asked for more. What you get for the money you spend is incredible. The staff is accomodating, friendly and so eager to make your stay wonderful. The trips ($) the are offered as off compound excursions are great. Take money with you even if your travel advisor says not to. We were told to leave our money in our safe while on the excurion and we went to a cigar factory in sosua and a pottery place -both places we would have bought items. That part was dissapointing. But overall the outcome is- We are getting married there in May 04 and we couldnt be happier to return to puerta plata and we wouldnt go anywhere else. Riu Merengue is spectacular. P.S anyone with comments please write [email protected] and let me know what you think of the resort :)
Author: Sasha Posted at 16:42 11/12/2003
My family and i have just returned from the Hotel Riu Merengue. It was better then I had expected, excellent facilities, very friendly, wonderful trips and pleasant atmosphere. The entertainments team work extremely hard. I will definately return.
Author: Raymond Posted at 13:33 09/15/2003
I have just returned from a family holiday to the hotel Riu Merengue The holiday was all my dreams turned into one! The Facilities, activities and entertainment were excellent. Sousa the Ocean World rep was extremely helpful and friendly - thank you.
Logan, Rafa, Spaghetti - my darlings you were gorgeous and sexy perfect dancers of the Merengue!
Great weather and very relaxing.
Look forward to seeing you all again real soon. Gracias.

Author: Sue Posted at 11:55 09/15/2003
I have just arrived home after 2 amazing weeks at the Riu Merengue. I never thought i could love a place so much. A special mention to the anamacion team as they make the holiday enjoyable for everyone, they are funny and never unhappy. In the mornings they great you, in their breaks they will come round and just have a general chat, at night they dance with people. The shows they do as a team are absolutly fantastic. There was never a dull moment at the Riu Merengue hotel. If i could relive that holiday again, i would jump at the chance. The rooms and the food was better than i expected and the maids at the hotel are also very friendly and very creative! I looked at the mambo and the bachata but i have to say of the 3 the merengue is the best. I recommend this holiday to anyone, and also the excersions. I did a dolphin encounter, and the pictures i got from that are just out of this world.

RIU MERENGUE EXCELLENTE EXCELLENTE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Author: Sarah Posted at 9:58 09/9/2003
I go to the Riu Merengue about every four months and have a great time every trip. Although I visit and enjoy the activities and staff at the Bachata, Ill always stay at the Merengue
Author: Andrea Posted at 2:09 05/12/2003
We went last August liked it so much that we are going back this August - what else needs to be said!
This is the first time that we have ever went back to the same hotel twice...
Cant wait....
Author: Hood Family Posted at 8:54 02/19/2003
me and my husband went in feb 2002 we loved it, we also got married there. the hotel was very good. we loved all the staff fransisco was very good he really made us laugh. the hol was 10 out of 10. we cant wait ti go back
Author: mrs gee Posted at 17:23 02/1/2003
In January of 2002, my parents took my husband and I and my brother and his wife to the Riu Merenge. Our first trip, my parents are seasoned travels. On a scale of 1-10, it definately gets a 10. Beuatiful, friendly service, fantastic rooms with attention paid to detail and a wide variety of good food. We cant wait to go back next year!
Author: Julie Posted at 22:18 01/11/2003
It's a really good hotel with excellent rooms, but when the hotel is at capacity the buffet restaurant does get packed and noisy. I prefer its neighbour, the riu Mambo, where the rooms and balconies are smaller, and the food choices are a bit more limited but it's all a bit more relaxed. Both hotels have really good friendly helpful staff and share the private beaches. They will however both be affected by the new ClubHotel Bachata which is the same size as the Merengue and will share its beaches.
Author: Julia Paul, Norfolk, UK Posted at 15:39 12/28/2002
Me and my family visited Riu merengue last month. We were told that there was no more room left. We even had confirmations and the ticket. Luckily' there was a resort right next to it called Riu Mambo. Even though I was at Riu mambo i visited Riu merengue and it was EXCELLENT. The food was deliciousand the activities were incredible!
Author: Nick Goltyapin Posted at 20:57 12/24/2002
My friend and I visited hotel Riu Merengue in November 2002. We had the best trip ever! The people at the hotel were amazing as was the food, activities and entertainment. We will definately be vising again in the near future.

Julie Wagar
Toronto, ON
CANADA
Author: Julie Wagar Posted at 20:38 11/17/2002

Post comment

 

Message Boards  Classifieds  News Archive  Travel  Business  Living  Legal

The contents of this webpage are copyright 1996-2007.  DR1. All Rights Reserved.