Add Bookmark  Contact Us  

Write a Review Sample Review
 

Sun Village

Rating: Horrible Phone: Website:
Location: North Coast Fax: E-Mail:
City: Puerta Plata Contact: Value for money: Horrible
Food: Average Decor: Average Service: Horrible
Comments:
I have stayed at many of the resorts on the north coast. I was very excited about staying at the sun village as seeing it advertised as a new resort. This could not be farther from the truth. Aparently they built new restaurants, pools and a few new buildings of suites only. If u stay in a standard or deluxe room, are you in for a surprise. It seems they somewhat renovated these. They are horrible, old rooms, dirty and in general rank up there with 1 star resorts. Not to mention the rooms are about 200-300 yds from the lobby and 8 or 9 flights of stairs. The amenities were just as bad. The nice new pool was dirty in most areas, the towels they give u are so old and beat up, its amazing they are still in one peice. The staff was even worse, i asked to get one of the newer rooms as advertised and they would not even try to help. To get a reservation is next to impossible in one of the restaurants unless you make it 4 or 5 days in advance. I travel the world extensivly and this is one of my worst stays, very disapointing. If your are expecting anything higher than a 2 star resort, i would recommed another resort. I will give credit however to the suites, if you are staying in one of these they are beautiful.
Author E-Mail: [email protected] Review date: 02/5/2003

 

Comments

im really really excited for my trip in like 4 weeks and i would really appreciate it if someone could tell me the spa treatment there??
Author: steven Posted at 15:14 01/29/2007
Author: ROBOTTAWA Posted at 11:17 01/5/2007
I sayed in Sun Viliage for a 7 day trip this summer.

I have traveled extensively to mexico and South America for both work and play and this was one of my best travel experiences yet.

I went with 7 close friends and we all had a great time. I would rate the rooms at 3.5 on a scale of 1-5 but I would give them 5 on value.

Other locations that have had nicer rooms often cost 100% more per night.

Also, I loved the fact that the resort wasn't over booked like many trips that I have taken. The place was clean, the staff was friendly and the food was quite good. Also we had no trouble getting diner reservations.

I give them an A- for my over all grade, but I will have the chance to try it all again since I have decided to vacation there again next year.
Author: Ken Posted at 14:50 08/3/2005
I stayed in sun village twice already let me tell you the honest to god true. I had a wonderful time i did stay at the" deluxe room" did not try the other rooms but to really injoy puerto plata you must try the tours....ocean world is o.k. very nice for the family witch is right next door the pool is to die for very big it has 2 water fall one emties to the other it has a day care center and a very nice kiddy pool...the towels were clean the room was perfect the service was excellent and let me tell you something been there twice and goning again....
Author: David Posted at 21:08 05/5/2005
I am heading to Sun Village the week of March 13-18th Can anyone inform me of night time activites
Author: Benny Posted at 12:48 03/3/2005
I just left the sun village resort, in puerto plata yesterday. The resort is
absolutely beautiful. the pools are clean, the grounds are spotless. The
staff are the most kindest people you
will ever meet. The food was good and
the beach is o.k. If you are going to spend alot of time in yr room you might want to upgrade fm a standard.
as for me and my boyfriend the room
was just fine it was clean and they kept the mini bar stacked. GO-- DON'T LISTEN TO THESE BAD REVIEWS, I almost cancelled my trip after reading some of these reviews. I am so happy
that we went and chose the sun village.
I also checked out other resorts why I
was there the Sun Village was the best
out of the five we checked out.
I will definetly go back next year.
you can email me for more info.
My host was Jamie who was excellent
in English and spanish. (so ask for him)
and tell him Marsha recommened him.
Author: Marsha Posted at 14:34 10/16/2004
I work in the DR and end up at one of the resorts just about every weekend. I think the negative comments pretty much relate my exact experince there. As for the positive ones, if they ejoyed their stay, I am happy for them.
I was there two weeks ago (and will never go back) and the place was empty! Last weekend went to Riu Merangue (Which is truely wonderful) and the place was packed. Guess the word is out.

One thing that was not mentioned in detail was the beach. Its small, dirty, and almost impossible to wade out into. I don't know if that is a seasonal thing but I won't be going back to see.

Buddy
Author: Al Posted at 18:06 05/25/2004
I cannot believe the terrible reviews that I have just finished reading.I travelled to Puerto Plata almost two years ago and to this day it is still a trip that has not been forgotten. We had an awesome time, the most relaxed I have ever been in my life.T he beach was gorgeous.I seemed to really enjoy the food, since I gained back all the weight that I had lost especially for the trip. The hotel was wonderful and very clean with not one single bug.Service was great and the people were the kindest and most caring. the pina coladas were to die for. I still cannot find a better tasting one. These complainers must be very spoiled people. We will definitely be returning to Puerto Plata and Sunvillage.
Author: marilyn Posted at 22:27 10/28/2003
I cannot believe the terrible reviews that I have just finished reading.I travelled to Puerto Plata almost two years ago and to this day it is still a trip that has not been forgotten. We had an awesome time, the most relaxed I have ever been in my life.T he beach was gorgeous.I seemed to really enjoy the food, since I gained back all the weight that I had lost especially for the trip. The hotel was wonderful and very clean with not one single bug.Service was great and the people were the kindest and most caring. the pina coladas were to die for. I still cannot find a better tasting one. These complainers must be very spoiled people. We will definitely be returning to Puerto Plata and Sunvillage.
Author: marilyn Posted at 22:26 10/28/2003
I forgot to add that the resort was lovelyand well-maintained. The pools were immaculate as well.
Author: Paul Brasky Posted at 19:24 03/26/2003
We just returned (3/24/03) from the Sun Village Resort and have to agree that the beach/pool towels were tattered, but usable. Also, the "standard" rooms are deplorable (smelly, cramped, poor location). However, we upgraded (@ $20/nite) to a deluxe room and were quite pleased. Moreover, we experienced NO problems with dinner reservations or with the helpfulness of resort personnel (most helpful & courteous). The food was generally good +, but variety and authenticity (E.g., the Thai restaurant didn't really serve Thai food.) were lacking. The food at Ovando's was quite tasty, but the portions were very small. The solution was to order a second entre or stop at the buffet restaurant first.
Author: Paul Brasky Posted at 19:20 03/26/2003
i stood at sun village last april the place was beautifull, the rooms were very clean always with good room service ..the food not the best but who cares you are at a resort to have a nice time not to eat .....the only problem is that it had to many stairs...but other than that the place was great
Author: gina Posted at 9:27 03/22/2003
last February we stayed at Sun villiage in a deluxe room it was brand new and
beautiful. We had a great time with excellent food and wonderful staff. I can not understand why this hotel was given such a bad review. We are staying at the resort in 2 weeks and are looking forward to another excellant holiday.
Author: GAIL CAMPBELL Posted at 13:50 02/10/2003

Post comment

 

Message Boards  Classifieds  News Archive  Travel  Business  Living  Legal

The contents of this webpage are copyright 1996-2007.  DR1. All Rights Reserved.