Add Bookmark  Contact Us  

Write a Review Sample Review
 

royal uvaro alto

Rating: Horrible Phone: Website:
Location: North Coast Fax: E-Mail:
City: punta conna Contact: Value for money: Horrible
Food: Horrible Decor: Average Service: Horrible
Comments:
we went to dominican for our honeymoon and we were totally upset with a number of things. first of all the people only spoke enough english to get simple things making any request a near task to get. the service was slow at best and usually whatever you wanted was not what you asked for. they took 7 hours to clean up a broken glass in our room. there was nothing to do outside our resort because we were afraid of the peopel because they were among the poorest people we had ever seen. they have no history and no sights. when we did go we were bombarded by children looking for handout and the shops were filled with pushy, rude salepeople who would not let you out of there store unless you bought something or just ignored them and walked around them. they actually would block you from leaving. the prices for the crap they sold, that was the same at every store was exactly the same, was way to high. don't ever pay evan half of what they ask for an item, 1/4 is more in line with what you can pay. ther is so much more to add but i am trying to get the word out to as many web sights as possible so my time is much needed. for further more detailed answers to your questions e-mail me at [email protected] the place that sent us there was cruise holiday in chester, ny. if you call them you can speak to diane or hal, we feel they totally played us as suckers.

urging you not to go

tom grazier
Author E-Mail: [email protected] Review date: 05/19/2003

 

Comments

HEY O WONDERFULL PEOPLE OF THE WORLD SO WORLDLY. IF YOU WERE SO CULTURED YOU WOULD NOT BE SO WELL LIKE YOU ARE. CULTURED MY ASS. MY WHOLE PONIT WAS THE RESORT SUCKED AND SO DID MY TRAVEL AGENT BY SAYING THEY CATER TO AMERICANS....MEANING THEY SPOKE ENGLISH ENOUGH TO MAKE US COMFORTABLE. IF I JUST WENT ANYPLACE DM I WOULD NOT BE SURPRISED THAT THEY DID NOT SPEEK ENGLISH , DUH SO ALL OF YOU CAN CALL ME TO VENT IF YOU MUST. AND BEFORE YOU DO MAKE A LIST OF YOUR SHORT COMINGS AND DEFECTS SO YOU REALIZE YOU NOT AS PERFECT AS YOU WOULD LIKE YOU POMPOUS, SMUGISH BLOW HARD(S). OH YEAH HAVE A NICE DAY, NO AND IF YOU CAN FIGURE OUT MY LAST THREE LETTERS GFU
Author: TOM GRAZIER Posted at 9:58 07/23/2008
I am an American born and raised in the United States of America. Now I know that this email was written over three years ago but I still must commit. I am so amazed at why a lot of Americans feel that they have some since of "Intitlement" when they leave the boarders of the United States. This once again shows how disrespectful and ungrateful a lot of Americans continue to be and how ignorant it appears a lot of Americans are. I am a former United States Marine, I have traveled the world. It was not until I went to the Phillipines where humanity changed my life forever. All human beings have a right to living a good, decent life. My travels have taught me that a lot of Americans just do not have compassion and are not willing to understand how blessed we truly are in this country. Tom I do not know you, I will not pass judgement on you, the only thing that I will say is that if you continue to travel outside the boarders of the United States you really need to research and have an open enough mind to be able to be humble and compassionate, because we are all one hardship away from becoming poverty stricken. Peace and many blessings. Efrem
Author: Efrem B. Martin Posted at 0:55 11/10/2007
You people crack me up. I spent a week in Punta Cana with my other half, We can't wait to go back.
Author: Alexis Posted at 9:21 06/10/2004
I must say thank you to all that took the time to write a positive and enlightening response to a close minded pair of individuals...I am a citizen of the Dominican Republic and have been a resident of the US for over 23 years....I'm so glad you guys have taken the time to embrace my culture and my country whereas so many people just go to Cancun, Jamaica, Virgin Islands, etc...thank you for being open minded!
Author: Clarisa Posted at 18:04 12/14/2003
you said that there in not culture!...just read this!..first hospital in the america,first university,first cathedral in america and last but not least,the olderst city in america......please travel the world and educate you self before you travel any other part of this world.....poor pleople????dont you have them in ny????????hahahaha.
Author: Ramon. Posted at 3:49 11/4/2003
also helps if you actually knew how to at least spell the name of the city you're in, for starters.
Author: t Posted at 0:34 10/28/2003
Dear Tom,
It is truly sad to say a country has no history without researching it first. The Dominican Republic is one of the most beautiful islands in the carribbean I have ever visited and I've been to about 12. You my friend need to keep your country ass in NY, by the way I as well am from NY.
Author: elizabeth Posted at 18:12 10/16/2003
Well I must say I would be very leary to go to the DR after reading that. But I have to know why did you chose the DR ? Not really a place I'd think to go on my honeymoon. What is in the DR????!!!!!
Author: DIANE Posted at 18:50 08/28/2003
These comments are hilarious - I spent a month in the DR. Loved every second.
Author: Greg Posted at 18:20 07/9/2003
Tom, get some spanish classes. Culture does not occupy space in your brain ( incase you have one).
The besta beaches in the world, the best climate on Earth, and you did not enjoy it? You must be a very sad person. Going on a Honeymoon and looking around finding errors.
Have you ever walked on Central Park in Manhattan? Have you seen those poor people?
Please, never come back to the Dominican Republic. People like spoil our beautyfull country.

Diego
Author: Diego Posted at 18:11 07/7/2003
Tom, it's unfortuante to hear that you and your wife had a terrible time; however, with your attitude you may have the very same experience in any country you visit. Not all countries speak your language or live the life you have. You need to be more open minded, embrace the people and the culture of the coutnry and have a good time. Dominicans are extremely friendly however, they will dish out what they recieve as well. Treat others as you'd like to be treaed...keep that in mind on your next vacation...or just stay home!
Author: Sue Posted at 15:11 06/23/2003
Tom, Next time you plan on traveling to a destination make sure you do a good research about the country. Dominican Republic play a great part in the American history since it was the first country discovered by Cristobal Colon in the first trip to America and If we talk about a country with no culture don't forget that you embark in Chester, NY. New York being part of the USA is another place with absolutetly no culture. USA is all about the Europeans immigrations and the Civil war. That's about it!
Author: Was Posted at 22:45 06/15/2003
I can't believe what I just read (Tom's posting). I know that there are some language problems, since they speak Spanish. Most of the people in the DR have a elementary school education, some don't even know how to write anything other than their names.T hey don't have the many resources we do. What would you do with $150.00 a month as your top-salary? Let me tell you, they do wonders, and they will always treat you the same way you treat them. I've never had a problem with people during my monthly visits and reviews to the DR. If I don't want to buy, try or visit, I just say NO. They do understand, they are humans, just like you. Next time show a little compassion and gratitude towards people and you might be rewarded. Good Luck!
Author: Emma Posted at 14:06 06/5/2003
Instead of "blaming the victim", in this case, Tom, consider this: Almost everyone that vacations at one of these resorts pays the equivalent of one-third to one-half of an average Dominican's yearly salary for only one week's stay. If someone vacationed in your area for a week and paid $15,000 (half of an average American's salary), don't you think that person would be entitled to polite, responsive service? I personally disagree with Tom in that I found most Dominicans to be friendly, yet even I met some who were hustlers. I videotaped some for-sale condos, I consider Sosua a potential retirement destination. Excusing the poor treatment Tom endured will only ensure that others will likely suffer it in the future. Great post, Tom!
Author: rob Posted at 14:26 05/31/2003
Yes, I agree with you Kate. We had a fabulous time in the DR and are planning to go back very soon. As anyone should do when travelling to a non-english speaking country learning a few words of that language goes a long way. Also, we felt VERY safe there. I walked around the town by myself on many occasions with no problem whatsoever. Tom, please don't go back, you give tourists a bad name.
Author: helen Posted at 17:12 05/28/2003
I wonder what language did you think they would speak in a Spanish Country? I might have given up after 3 hours and picked up the broken glass myself. There really are some people who should never leave home.
Author: kate Posted at 11:35 05/26/2003

Post comment

 

Message Boards  Classifieds  News Archive  Travel  Business  Living  Legal

The contents of this webpage are copyright 1996-2007.  DR1. All Rights Reserved.