Add Bookmark  Contact Us  

Write a Review Sample Review
 

Santana beach resort and casino

Rating: Above average Phone: Website:
Location: Southeast Coast Fax: E-Mail:
City: San Pedro Contact: Value for money: Above average
Food: Above average Decor: Above average Service: Above average
Comments:
yes went for four nights more than 5 might have been too long for me but would go back.
Really found the place comfortable, great for families, safe, easy to get around rooms are big.
variety of food for all kinds of likes. pool was perfect, very big and beach was clean. i wnet in the water with no problems but it does not compare to St. John or Jamaica. but still fine.
brush up on your spainish most of the staff don't know other langauges. but they try.
entertainment could have been better. but they got energy!
drinks were flowwing and so was expresso and cappacino's which was a nice suprise.
casino although small was fun.
i spent two night over in the Hilton in bocca Chica and found the casino was better if you like slot machines.
Author: Annonymous Review date: 12/10/2003

 

Comments

WARNING DO NOT GO TO SANTANA BEACH RESORT AND CASINO I would never go back to this resort(if you can call it that) if someone payed me thousands of dollars. the food made us sooo sick my friend even needed an IV. thank god for travelers insurence. the beach was discusting and the casino was scetchy the staff sexually harassed us most of the time. the first night there we heard a rumour that the security sells the drunk girls to locals. i also witnessed local people selling there children on the beach it was awfull. i could not wait to get home
Author: erin Posted at 23:41 02/11/2008
Trip to Punta Cana sucked. Food sucked and was dirty. Flies every where. We stayed at Excellente which was called paradise before. We got scammed out of 14 thousand dollars in the casino. Avoid the casino and DR all together.
Author: Nick Posted at 6:39 09/23/2007
For anyong reading this please listen carefully!! DO NOT GO TO THIS RESORT!!! My friend and I went down June of 2006 and by the end of our week we were calling the place SANPEN. (aka- Prison) If it wasn't for the people we met down there we probably would of died on that trip. No one spoke english at all or even really wanted to try ( the few who did wanted in our pants) They had the worst food i have ever tasted in my life, we didnt eat for days. Anyone Notice the random Dog and cats wondering around the resort??? ya, i swear thats what their hot dogs at the "snack bar" were made of. if you want to lose about 15 pounds SanPen is the place for you. The beach was nasty, we went paddle boating once and we couldnt wear the clothing we were wearing for the rest of the week. It smelt soooooooo bad. The sand wasn't even that nice. The pool and swim up bar was good when you didnt catch someone peeing in it. The room was good, clean, cozzy ( the nicest thing about the trip minus the drinking) The "disco" was fucking horrible. the "bouncers" were standing outside watching porn on Tvs and inside was all locals... they scared away the turiosts because they were pushing and way too forward. The Church was creepy...... the "Doctor's office" was the sketchest place i have ever seen..... The Casino was the smallest thing i have ever seen and i cant understand how i walked away without losing money. Apprently According to these Postings it was easy to do. I can Honestly say i will never go back to Punta Cana EVER because of this trip.... Rumour has it that the place isnt even open anymore!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Author: Shades Posted at 21:40 06/5/2007
We stayed at Santana and we had a great week. I feel really bad for the people who have to be critisizing resorts especially this one. We were treated great, the food was awesome and the staff the best I have ever seen, in my opinion, if you go to Dominican to a 4 star resort and complain with the little money paid for something the problems lies with you not the resort....
Author: Ronda and Judy Posted at 14:41 04/19/2006
Lucky NOT to have stayed at this hotel on our vacation but met several people who transferred to our hotel, Sunscape Casa del Mar, from Santana because of food poisoning and unclean conditions. They even had trouble getting out - had to pay $ to get out. People hospitalized, children sickened. BUT we were unfortunate enough to visit this "CASINO" (Very small, but deadly) and was unlucky to be pulled into Caribbean Keno!! We were pulled in with free chips, no one was allowed near us (not even family members!) and even though we knew that we would not win, we were afraid to get out. They swarmed over us and took us to room near cash cage where we gave credit card info so we would be allowed to leave. When we could not come up with all the "credit" they had given us they demanded USA drivers license and hotel info. They called us at our hotel and wanted us to meet their dealer (CROOK) at a Western Union to give them cash!!! We live near Atlantic City and never gamble, and were really hustled!! We consider ourselves educated, middle aged people with good common sense, but nothing prepared us for this! And when you are in a foreign country and don't speak the language, it is very scary! The dealer, Ronny, spoke very good english, but the manager on duty would speak no english and neither would the female managers who pressed us for cash after they got as much as we could come up with. We have visited Punta Cana in the past and would return there, but LaRomana was disappointing. Our hotel manager was helpful in calling the Santana Casino manager to get them off our backs, but it ruined our vacation. I know these people are poor, but to prey on those who visit their country and could really boost their economy with tourism, is stupid. They have all the natural resources to make this a great vacation spot for both Europeans and Americans, but this is not the way to go about it! Also, after complaining bitterly to our hotel, the next night their Guest Services people were sending people back to Santana Casino which leads me to believe that they are in on it. We scoured our hotel for people who had problems as well with Santana and will be pursuing other options to see what can be done. In the meantime, stay away from Casinos in the DR. They were even cheating on card games and with 10 people in our group, not one person won and we lost over $15,000. Let's show these crooks that our honest, hard-earned money will not line their pockets with one penny more!
Author: Diane Posted at 10:17 07/17/2005
This was the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. No-one spoke English, the food was disgusting, bird crap all over the buffet restaurant, unfriendly staff, employees stoned on cocaine and harassing girls incessantly, rude restaurant staff at the specialty restaurants, HORRIBLE beach (if you can call it that), unhelpful front desk staff, and, to top it off, they offer a scam in the casino called CXaribbean Keno...a game that is rigged and makes it impossible to win. Unfortunately, we didn't realize it until after we had been bilked out of over $5,000.l
DO NOT GO TO THIS RESORT !!!
Author: tim Posted at 16:58 03/7/2005
UNLIKE MOST HERE, WE WENT NOV 2004, AND WE WERE EATEN ALIVE BY NO SEES AND AS FOR THEBEACH OMG, THAT IS A RIVER IS FAR FROM ABEAUTIFULL BEACH, WAS DIRTY U CANT SNORKEL IN IT, ENTERTAINEMNT AROUND THE POOL DIDNT SRAT TILL 4ISH PM, THE POOL WATER WAS FREEZING, THE FOOD BUFFET AREA HAD BUGS FLYING ALL OVER THE FOOD, THE FOOD WAS COLD BY THE POOL, LOACALS AND ESCORTS ALL OVER THE CASINO AREA BOTHERING YOU . OR IN A FEW CASES ROBBING YOUR MAN OF HIS WALLET .. WAS A VERY BORING RESORT, I MET MANY FRIENDS AND THEY HELPED THE VACATION ENJOYABLE. BUT AS FOR HUNGER O SURE WAS , DUE TO BUGS ON FOOD , THEB ITES WERE HORRIBLE FROM NO SEES, SHOPPING WAS GOOD, ROOM WAS GREAT, POOL IS BEAUTIFULL BUT WAS VERY COLD HARDLY ANYONE USED IT, NO ONE SPOKE ENGLISH , PIZZA WAS GREAT NO BUGS, RESORT ITSELF IS BEAUTIFULL. AGAIN THE BEACH IS DIRTY LOOKS LIKE THE ATLANTIC OCEAN WATER BUT DIRTYER. I FEEL THIS IS A 3 STAR NOT A 4 OR 5 STAR. I BEEN TO 3 STARS AND THIS IS BELOW THEIR AVERGAE ,, VERY COLD HERE AT NIGHT TO DONW TO 60S,BRING A COAT. AGAIN NOT MUCH TO DO, THEY DONT HAVE A SET UP IT SEEMS... THIS FOR SURE IS A LAZY MANS VACATION.. BUT COLD AND DIRTY AND BUG INFESTED ..
Author: Lisa Posted at 22:44 12/12/2004
WOW, what a place. Everything you need is right at the resort. The staff were the best I have ever encountered, and I have been on many vacations. I went with 2 of my buddies, its more of a family resort, but we met lots a single people (especially girls!!) Great place, I would go back anytime
Author: Phil Posted at 15:59 05/14/2004
The resort was terrific. A great place for families with small children or teens. The beach wasn't the best but thats easy to overlook because of the terrific pool with swim up bar. The food was delicous especially the pizza place across the road. :)
Author: annonymous Posted at 15:20 04/17/2004
This vacation was the best time ever! The resort was absolutely gorgeous! Everything about it is so beautiful. The swim up bar is great, the pool is fantastic, and the entertainment team was the best!!! Special thanks to Peter, the paintball guy, for always going out of his way to make the trip better! Saona Island was beautiful! Only negative thing would be that the ocean was not crystal clear there. other than that, PARADISE!
Author: Amber Posted at 12:03 04/14/2004
por favor envienme el costo por noche somos 3 personas y deseamos saber esto. nos quedaremos 1 semana completa gracias
Author: juan francisco de los santos Posted at 1:35 03/3/2004
I recently came back from Santana and it was a really fun trip. The only thing that ruined our trip was the first night we arrived we went into the casino. We played Keno and lost basically most of our money. Keno is a scam. For the rest of the week we stayed Keno was closed. Besides that it was a really good experience. The animation team were very friendly people. I would like to say thank you to the (Elvis, Roberto,Oliver) you made our trip. the food wasn't that great. The trips that we took were awesome. Soana Island is one of the most beautiful place I have ever been. The beach wasn't what they said it would be and there were a lot of mostiques. I really enjoy Santana and would back any day.
Author: Jessica Posted at 21:10 01/2/2004

Post comment

 

Message Boards  Classifieds  News Archive  Travel  Business  Living  Legal

The contents of this webpage are copyright 1996-2007.  DR1. All Rights Reserved.