Add Bookmark  Contact Us  

Write a Review Sample Review
 

Amhsa Marina Hotels & Resorts (paradise hotel and casino)

Rating: Horrible Phone: 809-5627475 Website: http://www.amhsamarina.com/resorts/paradise_beach_club/?CFID=11342193&CFTOKEN=f5e45b49af1170bb-61ED538C-F1F6-9482-31513DA2125D5149
Location: North Coast Fax: E-Mail: [email protected]
City: Puerto plata Contact: Value for money: Horrible
Food: Horrible Decor: Horrible Service: Below average
Comments:
I stayed there for one night and the experience was the worst experience in the DR. I had initially booked for 4 nights and because of the poor experience I checked out 3 nights early.
It wasn't until after I threatened to contact the tourism ministry (I have contacts there) that my money was refunded about 4 weeks later. I would recomend not visiting or staying at this property.
To ad insult to injury, upon exiting the property, I was accused of stealing beach towels.
What a great experience!
Author E-Mail: [email protected] Review date: 07/11/2005

 

Comments

nice hotel only on the internet and nices pics, i was there on april 21/2010 for 3 days.
1- have no activities, not place for kids just a pool.
2-after the night show is nothing else to do (BOOOORRRIINNNGG) THEY HAVE A CLUB AND I THING MY BATHROOM IS MORE BIGGER. THEY ONLY PLAY TECH. MUSIC THAT'S IT,
3- BY 2 AM EVERYTHING IS CLOSED,
3. ROOM:, SMALL TV 19 INCH OLD MODEL WITHOUT REMOTE CONTROL, THE AC WASN'T WORKING (HOT ROOM) I WAS SLEEPING ON THE BALCONY FOR 3 NIGHTS.
4-FOOD: HORRIBLE, NASTY, SUCK FOOD, I GOT SICK EATTING THIS GARBAGE, THEY HAVE NOT NATURAL JUICE.
5- POOL TABLE: THEY HAVE JUST 2 PIECE OF SH... TABLE WITH ONLY 3 CUE FOR BOTH TABLE.
6 BEACH: DIRTY WITH GARBAGE AND CONDONS IN THE WATER, THE GOOD THING WAS THE POOL AND THE BAR (DRINK)
TOOOOOOO EXPENSIVE FOR THAT SH... MY OPINION, YOU CAN FIND A BETTER RESORT WITH BETTER SERVICE, FOOD,ACTIVITIES FOR LESS MONEY. PLEASE PEOPLE DON'T SPENDING YOUR MONEY FOR SOMETHING THAT HAVE NOTHING, NOTHING, NOTHING, I REGRET A LOT TO GO TO THE FAMOUS AMHSA MARINA (GRAND PARADISE) OF COURSE GRAND PARADISE OF SH.,..,
I HAD MORE FUN TAKING A YELLOW TAXI IN THE JFK AIRPORT GOING BACK TO MY APT IN NYC.
PEOPLE, I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS RESORT. SORRY BUT IS A CRAB,
LIKE A SAID THE ONLY GOOD THING ABOUT IT WAS THE NIGHT SHOW THOSE GUYS ARE GOOD
Author: ANTHONY Posted at 23:41 05/3/2010
bullshit hotel, with not services, bad and nasty food, not activities, they have a boat bar and is free to drink (yeah right, they charge you for the drink) if you wish to give away you money you can go but i just back in town and i do not recommend this hotel, too expensive for nothing horrible services, horrible food, not activities, and if you use the phone for any local call (DR) they will charge you for 5 minutes 625 pesos (18 us dollars) if you use you credit card for any international call as soon you give you credit card they charge you us$39.00 dollars, i use my credit card to call my mon to new jersey and the phone was busy, i check my bank online and they charge me $39.00 dollars for that,
NOT RECOMMENDATION FOR THIS GARBAGE!!!!
Author: JENNY Posted at 23:40 05/3/2010
loved it will go back again staff was great the food was good
Author: brian an holly from picton ont Posted at 10:43 02/2/2009
Hotel under new management and construction. Not organized, took forever to check-in, rooms in bad condition, main floor room smelled moldy, found mould stains on curtains, water pouring down light fixtures in most bathrooms on main floors (after speaking with other guests, very common) they think nothing of it, when we asked to switch rooms, we were asked to rush because they were going to place someone else in that room (amazing) no wonder all you hear is complaining. Our friends had no bed in their room, frame broken on the floor and mattress against the wall. Food was OK, but service poor (we had to wait 45 minutes to get drinks and had to clear our own table to another table, took them 45 minutes to clear that table as it was pilling up with other people clearing their tables)
They have a new section away from the beach (still under construction but some rooms are completed) and the food, atmosphere, rooms, staff are all better there. Just a little train ride to the beach.
The beach is beautiful though and they have little huts on the beach for shade which we really liked. But there are a lot of other nice hotels along that same beach like the Riu Resort & the Princess where we have friends who go regularly and love those resorts. We just wanted to try something different and we thought it was a good deal, for almost the same price we could have gone to the RIU, check other resorts before you go, prices are comparable, even if you have to pay a little bit more, it's worth it not to go there.....I would not recommend this resort.
Author: lucie Posted at 6:54 01/9/2008
Amhsa Marina has purchased the resort as of Oct 1st, 2007. They have started to extensive renovate the hotel, though are doing it room block by room block.

Expect the quality of this resort to improve greatly.

Previously they only managed the resort and were prone to cost restrictions as imposed by the actual owners.

With them now owning and running this resort I expect it to become one of the top resorts in the DR.

And if you are wondering yes I have stayed there. Spent 1 week in Nov. of 2006 at the resort with my father. He has been a regular customer there for the last 8 years going there at least twice a year. With last year spending 9 weeks out of an 11 week stay in the DR. He has plans to return this Jan 2008 for a full 4 month stay.

So yes I speak from experience.
Author: Arbitus Posted at 0:19 10/29/2007
We went there honeymooning, you get what you pay for at this resort, its cheap, so are the rooms, the decorating, the food, the entertainment, if you want a cheap holiday in the warmth with different excursions available, this is the one.
Author: TANYA Posted at 17:26 02/27/2007
OH MY GOD!!!!

For Real...you saw roaches, dogs, cats and flies??????

The nerve!!!
The staff and management should be taken out at dawn and shot with a ball of their own shit for ALLOWING these wild animals on the resort.... get a grip.
Author: Mary Posted at 10:00 02/15/2007
I love this place... the staff becomes your family, I go there year after year and will continue to do so..... the entertainment is awesome... the beach is beautiful and the neverending activities throughout the day keeps everyone pumped!!
Author: Isa Posted at 5:58 01/5/2007
We had the worst experience in this resort. We will never go back. We saw roaches, dogs and cats. Flies were all over our food at dinner
Author: armele eugene Posted at 13:13 07/24/2006
We were there last jan/feb.
I would definatly visit that resort again just for the hospitality of the resort staff.
The rooms were so/so but how long do you spend in the room.
The staff and the beach is what will make me return.
The Crazy Moon disco was a write off but the beach personelle was top notch
Author: Jeff Posted at 15:59 10/17/2005
My husband and I visit different resorts throughout the D. republic every year ranging from guests houses to five star hotels. Out of all the resorts we have visited the Paradises staff gives 100% in catering to their guests. The food is excellent the beach is breathtaking. We highly recommend the property.
Author: Julie Posted at 17:17 09/5/2005
Well, isn't it weird how everyone has totally different experiences, i was there in July 2005 and loved it, im going back in october for two weeks before i settle down to the non-AI life of DR. No, its not the best hotel i've seen in DR but for what it costs its good!
Author: Jess Posted at 5:28 08/18/2005

Post comment

 

Message Boards  Classifieds  News Archive  Travel  Business  Living  Legal

The contents of this webpage are copyright 1996-2007.  DR1. All Rights Reserved.