Add Bookmark  Contact Us  

Write a Review Sample Review
 

Decameron Beach and Casino Resort

Rating: Above average Phone: 809-526-2009 Website:
Location: Southeast Coast Fax: 809-526-2809 E-Mail:
City: Juan Dolio Contact: Eduardo (reservations) Value for money: Excellent
Food: Above average Decor: Average Service: Above average
Comments:
This was my 4th stay at the Decameron, so obviously I like the place, or I wouldn't have kept returning. First let me explain that I'm not one of those type people who stay at a resort and don't venture out. I stay with Dominican friends from Santo Domingo, and we have a car, and we get around. But the Decameron is a great place to call "home" when I'm in the Dominican Republic.

The Decameron used to be run by Barcelo but is now owned and operated independently. This was my first time there since the change over. In my opinion, the change is definitely for the better. The food is MUCH better (new head chef) and the employees all seem to be happier. They are slowly (this IS the DR, after all) renovating the rooms and the grounds and making repairs. Apparently Barcelo had allowed the property to deteriorate, and now the new owner is basically doing damage repair. Already you can see added touches and repairs being done around the grounds. The beach club has opened back up to its original size, there are new palm trees around the pool and everything seems to be running much more smoothly now.

Everyone who works there does their very best at keeping the guests happy. I'm not cheap when it comes to tipping them, so I always get service right away. 50 or 100 pesos here or there is not a lot of money with the current US dollar exchange rate, and the tips are very appreciated. I've never understood people who refuse to tip a peso but yet want everyone to cater to their every whim. The price of the Decameron is soooo cheap, and the value you get for your money is incredible.

I will admit that the rooms don't have the greatest of furnishings. But everything in my room has always been in working order. Who goes to a resort to sit around in the room anyway? The pool is always kept very clean. The animation staff goes out of their way to keep everyone happy. The shows at night are very entertaining. The disco at night is really good too. The one complaint I have is that they removed the pool tables from the disco. I asked about it, and they said maybe they'll put them back - but I wasn't given a definite answer. But I can always go to Bar Chocolate (right next door to the resort) if I want to shoot pool.

Author E-Mail: [email protected] Review date: 07/8/2003

 

Comments

I have been to 3 hotels in the DR and Decameron was the worst as yet, the food is absolutely terrible, well last year anyway, it was like 2 day old cafeteria food and also some "local favorites" which were unedible. It was small and kinda run down next time Ill be going somewhere else if the hurricanes arent too bad. Ill probably try Costa Caribe me and my wife went by it and it looked nice and the dining room was very nice as well.
Author: jason Posted at 12:20 09/4/2004
WE GOT BACK FROM THE DECAMERON ON SUNDAY MORNING . WE STAYED THERE FROM THE 19TH OF JUNE TO THE 3RD OF JULY 2004.THE FOOD ONLY CATERS FOR THE DOMINICANS AND PEURTO RICANS.EVERY SCOTTISH PERSON THAT WAS THERE AT THE SAME TIME AS US WERE ILL WITH SEVERE STOMACH CRAMPS FOR ABOUT 10 DAYS OUT OF THE 14 DAYS THAT WE WERE THERE.THE SERVICE IS VERY GOOD BUT THE CHEFS ARE VERY UNHYGEINIC AS THEY WALK AROUND THE RESORT WITH THEIR UNIFORMS ON WHICH ATTRACTS DIRT AND BUGS.THE ROOMS ARE NICE BUT VERY BASIC,YOU'LL ONLY BE USING THE ROOMS TO SLEEP IN,AND IN MY CASE WATCH EURO 2004.THE ENTERTAINMENT STAFF ARE ABSOLUTELY BRILLIANT ,ALFEDDO AND SANTOS ARE REALLY FUNNY ,AND MIGUEL I LOVE HIM , I WANT TO MARRY HIM HES FUNNY AND GORGEOUS.IF YOU HAVE PICTURES OF MIGUEL PLEASE SEND THEM TO ME,IF YOU SEE HIM TELL HIM I LOVE HIM.THE BARMEN ARE REALLY NICE ESPECIALLY RONNY.WATCH OUT FOR THE PEURTO RICANS THE LIKE TO BARGE IN INSTEAD OF QUEING.DON'T BUY ANYTHING OF PEOPLE AT THE BEACH THEY REALLY RIP YOU OFF, BUY EVERYTHING FROM THE SHOP NEAR THE GAZEEBO IT'S CHEAPEST.I STRONGLY RECOMMEND THAT YOU GO ON THE SAONA TRIP IT'S WELL WORTH THE MONEY AS IT IS PARADICE.WATCH OUT FOR ALL THE BIRD DROPPINGS IN THE POOL!THE RUM AND COKE GETS YOU DRUNK EXTREMELY FAST.OUR REP WAS ABSOLUTELY MAGNIFICENT HE IS GARETH FROM GO TRAVEL DIRECT.GET UP ON STAGE AND DANCE ALONG WITH THE ENTERTAINERS ,AND EVEN BUY THE CD OFF MIGUEL SO YOU CAN PRACTICE YOUR STEPS BACK HOME I DID NOW I'VE MASTERED THE MOVES.THE TAXIS AND MOST OTHER TRANSPORTATION LIKE TO RIP YOU OFF SO MIND AND WATCH YOUR PESOS.WHATEVER PEOPLE SAY ABOUT SEEING GUNS EVERYWHERE THATS A LIE , AND ABOUT THE VILLAGES BEING REALLY BAD-THE'RE NOT THAT BAD . YOU WILL NOTICE THAT YOU WILL SEE SMALL RUN DOWN VILLAGES NEXT TO GREAT BIG SHOPPING MALLS OR RICHER HOMES.I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO ANYONE AS LONG AS THEY BROUGHT BACK PICTURES OF MIGUEL FOR ME
GRACIAS
Author: stephanie LOVE FROM SCOTLAND Posted at 16:22 07/6/2004
DOES ANYONE WHO HAS BEEN TO THE DECAMERON BEACH CLUB HAVE PICTURES OR ANY SORT OF IMAGES OF THE ENTERTAINER MIGUEL BECAUSE I LOVE HIM AND MISS HIM VERY MUCH SO PLEASE SEND ME AS MANY PICTURES AS POSSIBLE. GRACIAS . P.S. I WOULD LOVE TO MARRY HIM
Author: stephanie Posted at 15:52 07/6/2004
We returned from Decameron on 04/25/04.We booked through Go Travel Direct which was excellent.
The resort is older, but the service is 5 star in my book.The staff is very friendly and eager to please.They had something going on all the time, be it a show or sports of some kind.
The food was good and I'm a picky eater.The buffet had a good variety,and we tried two of the three restaurants and they were great.
The grounds were spotless and well maintained and they raked up the beach every day. The only things missing were clock radios, fridges in room and kleenex.
As for vendors on the beach , you get that at most resorts . They are friendly and will take no for an answer. One vendor to take note of is Juan B. Cedeno (cell # 481-4037) He sells tour packages with Plaza Chocolate. We took two different tours with him and would recommend him highly. The Santa Domingo tour with him was excellent. Where Juan is native to Santa Dominigo he showed us around the town and spots that otherwise you would never get to see.
This was our 25th anniversary getaway and would go back to the same spot year after year. Great Spot to kick back and relax!
Author: karl mills- Nova Scotia Canada Posted at 9:50 05/9/2004
Great place for families or for adults. Kids are constantly entertained, with or without the kids club. The staff is great. Make sure you visit Oscar at the moonlight bar by the beach in the evening-he is the kindest, nicest, and most attentive person I have ever met.
People are nice, beaches are great and the service is pretty good.

Say hi to Oscar for the Murphy's
Author: jen murphy Posted at 0:31 04/21/2004
Just returned from here, it is a beautiful spot we had an awesome relaxing time. The hotel is a 3 star place with the rooms reasonably clean. The grounds and beach are very well kept and maintained. The staff is friendly, but very few speak english and towels are hard to get. Go and enjoy.
JPM Maine
Author: JPM Posted at 20:01 03/25/2004
This is quite possably the worst place I have ever been. I have travelled enough to know that this resort is far below the 3 and a half star rating that it is given by Go Travel Direct. The staff was so ignorant and dismissive and could hardly speak one word of english. The power went out more than twice as well as the water. I was showering and suddenly the water just stopped. This happened more than 3 times. None of the phones that we could find in the hotel would accept calling cards or collect calls. The phone in our room was broken as well as the t.v. and it took then a good 3 days to fix the t.v. after continuously trying to get us to fix it ourselves. When we first arrived we were given a room with two beds and no shower head. Our reservation was for a room with one queen bed and most obviously a shower that works. We were sent from room to room to bother people while they tried to settle it to see if anyone would switch rooms with us.

The resort seems to be running off a very small income and it is way to big for the amount of incompitent staff that are trying to run the place. Even GO TRAVEL DIRECT stated that they hotel needs to do some renovations before it can be considered a 3 1/2 star. The area was good as was the beach. However the hotel was shit. I definately do not recommend it.
Author: Mila Posted at 13:05 02/27/2004
Just came back from the Decameron. We stayed from Feb.12-19/04.
The place was great. Grounds were beautiful, beach was big, sandy, and wonderful.
The room was clean and big. Lots of fresh water and service was great.
The staff and locals were very friendly and helpful.
The food was just as good as you would get at home- subtle differences.
The reviews on other sites of people getting sick from the food are crap.
The only reason people get sick is because they either eat things they normally wouldn't, eat to excess, or drink and mix too damn much.
The nightly entertainment was fantastic.
There are people that will find fault with anything. Nothing on this earth is perfect, but if you want a great place to stay, in a beautiful tropical country, with warm weather, a beautiful beach and ocean, then stay here and enjoy your holiday.
Say hi to the puppies on the beach and give them a snack, they're pretty cute and friendly.
You have to haggle with some of the vendors, but they are not much problem, in fact they are kind of funny.
Don't worry, enjoy your time there and have fun.
Brian D.
Author: Brian Posted at 22:14 02/21/2004
just returned from the decameron. travelled from ottawa with go travel direct, jan 22nd to feb 5th. if you want a great place for a great deal this is it. the rooms are basic with large balconies. very clean. the food is fantastic. lots of choices at the buffet and the a la carte restaurants.the staff are very accomodating. one of the couples travelling with us weren't happy with their main floor room and they were moved immediately. they were told at the desk that they wanted everyone to be happy. we found our mattress rather firm for our taste and they changed our mattress for us. there is plenty of room on the beach , it is much wider than other resorts in the area. the water changed from week to week. the first week we were there it was quite calm and clear with very few weeds. the second week it was windier and the water was churned up more so it was weedier and murky at times. still lovely and warm and there was always someone raking the beach.the pools were nice but we spent most of our time at the beach.took the saona island tour which was well worth the money.check out the prices of things in the gift shops before buying on the beach,sometimes cheaper than what you can bargain for.say hi to francine the beach vendor. she gives a great massage for $15 US for a half hour. Henry in the buffet is a hoot.Liam the go travel rep is awesome.bring yourself a floatie, an insulated mug(great for larger drinks,less trips to the bar and also to barter with at the end of your trip) lots of sunscreen and the drugs you may need, like tylenol , motrin, gravol, tums,immodium,benadryl. if you are coming with a previous 4 or 5 star experience ,then remember you are getting a great deal for a 3 and a half star resort. if you have any whining to do keep it to yourself or get on the next plane and go home. the rest of us are having a great time and don't want to listen to you. bonnie ottawa ,ontario
Author: bonnie Posted at 20:52 02/6/2004
subject the decameron beach and casino resort in juan dolio
well the resort is very nice the people very nice an helpful the food is good the price is good as well the rooms are good well i didnt have hot water an my shower head wasnt in good working order but i didnt complain to the desk maybe i should of but anyway the ocean water is very nice an blue the only thing i didnt like was the people always trying to get you to buy something while your trying to get a tan or just relaxing on the beach OH WATCH OUT FOR THE SHOE SHINE BOYS(TEEN AGE) BEFOR YOU KNOW IT YOU SNEAKER WILL BE FUL OF SOAP AND THEN THEY PERSIST ON CLEANING THE OTHER ONE AN WANT 1000 PESOS THEY MOSTLY ARE IN THE ALLY WAY(SMALL) ROAD BETWEEN THE RESOT AND THE RESORTS ENTRANCE TO THE BEACH BUT OTHER THEN THAT I HAD A GOOD TIME OH ITS WOULD OF BEEN MORE FUN IF I WOULD OF TOOK SOMEBODY WITH ME AD AS WITH ALL RESORTS COMES VACATION CLUBS(TIME SHARES) SO BONE UP ON THE WORD/WORDS NO ISAID NO THANKS AND YOU SHOULD DO FINE IF YOU CAN MAKE TRANFERS FROM AIRPORT BEFOR HAND SOME OF THE TAXIS WILL TAKE YOU FOR MUCHO PESO`S AS I FOUND OUT SINCERLY YOUR GONZO403
Author: a guy from pa(usa) Posted at 21:28 08/28/2003

Post comment

 

Message Boards  Classifieds  News Archive  Travel  Business  Living  Legal

The contents of this webpage are copyright 1996-2007.  DR1. All Rights Reserved.