Add Bookmark  Contact Us  

Write a Review Sample Review
 

SUNCAMP

Rating: Horrible Phone: Website:
Location: North Coast Fax: E-Mail:
City: Puerto Plata Contact: Diane Pellerin Value for money: Horrible
Food: Average Decor: Horrible Service: Horrible
Comments:
I stayed at this so called SUNCAMP a few weeks ago. I was told in email it is only 2km across Playa Dorada and very safe. I booked a studio. Very cheap, that is true.
When I arrived I paid for 1 month and was then taken by a young Haitian to my studio. He also went in to the apartment and did not want to leave!! The studio was 1 room, cementhouse and tinroof. A small refrigerator, small bed, a toilet with shower without a door! I was also greeted the same night by alltogether 7 lizards and 2 spiders of a hamburger size. I said the next morning that I was not comfortable staying here, no windows - just steelbars. Mrs Pellerin replied that in this country you will get used to live among insects and no money back.
She promised me assistance in finding work. The only assistance I got was a paper she have written with information about what hotels are located in Playa Dorada and what businesses are there. I could figure that out myself by going there!!!
I stayed 1 week before I left for the city. This place has only cold water, alots of Haitians are hanging around, no shops to buy anything... like food, candles etc. The only transportation available from there is the public cars, that you share with like 6 to 8 persons more at the same time and only to go to Playa Dorada these 2 kms took me 40 minutes!
Now, I have found out by people I met, that this SUNCAMP is more known as Tropical House, SunsetDream, Casa Quebec... and that Mrs Pellerin changes name every now and then due to the bad reputation this place has. There were other people living there, who really liked it, I must say. These were people from Quebec, hanging with Haitian women and bottles of alcohol. I have left this place, I have found a work on my own, and I write this so people planning to come here at least things twice before going to this place. Think it over, and if you by any chance should chose it you still dont need to book, it is always empty more or less. And dont pay for 1 month, you will end up leaving before. This is not DR and it is not even the DR countryside. The area is not planned at all, no nice plants, trees or flowers. You can not flush the toilets, you need to go out with your garbage and leave it in a box in front of another apartment. They burn the garbage so it is dirty all around.... The place is not maintained at all. And Mrs Pellerin is not who she pretends to be on the internet. Her reputation in business here is overall bad.
Author E-Mail: [email protected] Review date: 02/3/2005

 

Comments

Bonjour, je suis une fille de 39 ans et voudrais enseigner l'anlais et le francais et peut etre passer un peu de temps a votre cite. Pouvez vous m'envoyer quelques photos de votre cite svp.

Merci a l'avance
Author: Jenny Mc Kelvey Posted at 14:48 05/3/2012
Author: LiLIANE, QUEBEC Posted at 20:50 02/1/2008
I wanna spend a couple months in DR, perhaps at SunCamp. I have a degree from UofM and I speak french, english and spanish. Do I have a good chance to find a job in the Playa Dorada area and can I make enough to pay for my apartment?

Tkx!
Author: Marc Posted at 16:54 12/8/2006
I have just visited this website for the first time and as a very experienced traveller and regular contributer to a very well respected feedback site called trip advisor i am appalled at the way people are allowed to abuse others on this site for leaving honest comments,the whole idea is that you leave an honest opinion good or bad about your own experience.If people are allowed to continue to be nasty when another person says something negative you will just end up with very biased opinions which is not what this is about.I will stick to trip advisor in future where opinions are removed if they become too personal towards an individual,shame on all you nasty people.
Author: Pamelia Posted at 9:07 10/19/2006
Moi je demeure a sun camp et je peut vous dire que cest bien pour le prix Sauf que Diane est tres versatile aujourd,hui elles peut vous dire que ceci est noird et demains que cest blancalors a vous de ffaire le choix
Author: Henri Posted at 18:35 09/26/2006
I stayed at SUNCAMP in April and May of 2004. I knew from the photos and description on the website that this place would be perfect for me ... and it was. I made my reservation online and chose my apartment from the photos. I also specifically asked for a sunny place. I got just what I asked for. My studio apartment had windows on one whole side, facing the river. I got a great breeze and view.

I have traveled to many other under-developed, Latin countries, so I knew what to expect here. Of course the roads are bad, transporation is slow and shared, and the electricity is sporadic. These are some of the things that make a vacation here an adventure!

I enjoyed meeting all the different people from around the world staying at SUNCAMP. We all became quite a family. I also enjoyed meeting the local people. All were friendly and interested in our presence. I made friends that I continue to communicate with.

Diane and her family are a great source of information and fun to be around. I remember birthday parties and barbeques in the evenings, in addition to walking into the village for drinks and dancing.

If you're looking for an inexpensive place to stay, learn Spanish, meet people and enjoy this beatiful country, SUNCAMP is the place for you. If you're looking for a resort with all the amenities, you've come to the wrong place -- Stay at Playa Dorado, you'll be happier there.
Author: Katie Leigh Posted at 11:07 05/19/2006
Author: Cossety Mario Posted at 11:03 05/19/2006
I'm an American, and have conversed with Diane Pellerin for several weeks now, via eMails and IP Telephony. All i have to say to this previous posint, is that i am happy for you. You weren't after what Diane or Suncamp had to offer, obviously, and that's fine, for you. Others are, and shouldn't have to listen to a person knock what they do not understand. I lived in another 3 rd world country for over 10 years, and found it extremely interesting and the people very very nice there. But, it was NOT what i expected to find, after reading all of the tourist literature, and booklets offered. I was bitten by scorpions, and stepped on a snake once, took baths in cold water, and had 21 stitches in my face, the first six months i was there. After ten years, i left this country with tears in my eyes, for the friends and others i was to leave behind. If Suncamp IS NOT FOR YOU, that's fine, sir. But, ,save your opinions for others, who beleive all that they hear and see nothing, even when it's on the end of their nose. Thanks, thanks for leaving SUNCAMP.
Author: Marcos Ballinger Posted at 23:07 01/8/2006
on est allez passer une semaine avec un ami.super site pour les amateurs de camping mais un peu eloigne de la ville avec tres peu de service pour aller s y promener surtout le soir sans debourser 3 fois plus d argent que durant le jour.mais diane pellerin est tres proche de ses clients.tres bon acceuil.diane est venu nous chercher et reconduire a l aeroport comme promis...
Author: roberto Posted at 6:50 09/9/2005
I stayed at SUNCAMP in April and May of 2004. I knew from the photos and description on the website that this place would be perfect for me ... and it was. I made my reservation online and chose my apartment from the photos. I also specifically asked for a sunny place. I got just what I asked for. My studio apartment had windows on one whole side, facing the river. I got a great breeze and view.

I have traveled to many other under-developed, Latin countries, so I knew what to expect here. Of course the roads are bad, transporation is slow and shared, and the electricity is sporadic. These are some of the things that make a vacation here an adventure!

I enjoyed meeting all the different people from around the world staying at SUNCAMP. We all became quite a family. I also enjoyed meeting the local people. All were friendly and interested in our presence. I made friends that I continue to communicate with.

Diane and her family are a great source of information and fun to be around. I remember birthday parties and barbeques in the evenings, in addition to walking into the village for drinks and dancing.

If you're looking for an inexpensive place to stay, learn Spanish, meet people and enjoy this beatiful country, SUNCAMP is the place for you. If you're looking for a resort with all the amenities, you've come to the wrong place -- Stay at Playa Dorado, you'll be happier there.
Author: Katie Leigh Posted at 13:45 08/15/2005
we - two swiss girls - spent our riding holidays at suncamp. we did not expect great comfort and we knew before that we are going to live almost like the people there.
the tree weeks we spent at suncamp we had a great time, especially the riding trips where the best of all we did before.
of course it was not a hotel, but we had our place to stay and for us it was like an adventure and a preparation for our field studies for social anthropology. we had no problems with cold showers or no door in the bathroom, because we just wanted to have a good time and it worked out great for us.
and we try everything to get back next year for our rinding holiday to the litte "dominican way" of paradise.
Author: Seraina & Sabrina Posted at 12:59 08/10/2005
Author: Posted at 12:24 08/3/2005
Author: Nathalie Posted at 9:26 08/3/2005
Anyone complaining about the hospitality, surroundings, value for money or the local people of Munoz, need their heads examined, or locked-up for a while in Puerto Plata prison! Why not vice-verca fill the Playa Dorada with the prisoners for a week? They would probably hate it!
Of the 21 days I spend on D. Rep, 9 of them were in Suncamp, where I found Diane in a full leg-cast.
Most of that time she was in pure agony and needed all attention from everyone around her. Nevertheless, she ensured that all guests were catered for somehow. She is a brave individual who inspires the local people, both Dominican and Haitian, to improve their lives through gentle involvement and business sensibilty.
I loved my time there: swam in the pool, chatted with the long-term boarders and made great friends with the staff who helped improve my Spanish and French.
Thank you Suncamp's staff and Diane for a stay that I will never forget and one which I have already recommended to others.
Author: Riff Walker Posted at 7:41 07/26/2005
I have just returned from Suncamp where I have spent 1 week. This is not my first trip since I have been there on and off since 2002.

I have been surprised by the improvements that have been added over time. The rooms are better equiped and the addition of inverters have greatly simplified life.

I am disturbed by that COUNTMEOUT person which article is posted on the frontline. She is probably a very lonely person and surely have no sense of beauty. She prefers the polution of POP and all the garbage around.
Furthermore the Haitian people living in the vicinity have never been a problem. In essence you need an open mind to appreciate Munoz which is surely absent from that person.

Thanks to Diane for an honest hospitality.
Author: Guy Posted at 17:14 07/21/2005
I had a great time there! But what I wanted was to live a Dominican adventure, not the life I live in Canada. If you want to relax, learn Spanish and learn how to dance, that's a great place! People are very friendly there (the people who live at Diane's place and the Dominicans), they're always there to help and to make sure you have fun! I also stayed at Playa Dorada this year, and I missed my friends from Munoz (I was ther in 2002 for 6 weeks). They're just real humans who are always willing to share the little they have! And believe me, it's countryside, but we had all the necessary facilities to look as glamourous as in Montreal when it was time to go out! (which, by the way, we did almost every night, at very little cost, in cheap clubs or in more classy clubs and shows, with Dominican friends who have more money). If you accept to make real Dominican friends, to learn their language and to live as they live for a while, it may change your life in a very positive way!
P.S.: I didn't look for a job, so I can't tell you much about this.
Author: Posted at 21:38 07/16/2005
I stayed a few month in Tropical house 2 years ago. Reading the comments here, I have to say: it is for people who want to see the countryside. I actualy liked it a lot and appriciated people there. DR is not Europe or Canada, and Playa Dorada is not DR. Tropical house is very splecial, I learnt a lot there abour caribian mentality.
good luck to tropical house!
Author: judit Posted at 5:40 07/13/2005
Author: Sylvain Posted at 22:18 07/12/2005
I've stayed at Diane Pellerin's "Suncamp" in october 2005 and found it... as described. It appears that the units are now equiped with battery backed-up converters so there is light and fan during black-outs. Also the prices went down ($ 100 for a room, $ 150 for a studio with equiped kitchenette, and $ 200 for an apartment with separated bed and living-room. There is also hot showers. Yes, it is a bit remote but transportation is nearby and inexpensive (a bit crowded however). Get real: Nowhere (especially in the Caribbean) will you find accomodation for that price and I haven't been botherered by mosquitoes nor other pests; you might meet with some at time, but what else to expect in the Tropics?
For anybody who want to escape the long and frigid northern winters but have a limited budget it seems to me a faire alternative as between the monthly rate and being able to cook your own meals makes it sound budget-wise.
I found Diane Pellerin a nice person (she WAS there waiting for me at the airport upon arrival), helpful and knowledgeable (she's been living in DR for many years). She never ASSURED nor PROMISE me a job but DID provide me with a list of places I could go and inquire. Finding a job depends and your personality and qualifications; there ARE openings in the tourism industry. I think overall it can be a good place to start as it won't blow your budget, and if you find a job and prefer another accomodation, well, it's up to your.
Now, if you want a beach-front hotel, and spend the winter there, check your saving account.
Author: Pascal Le Colletter Posted at 11:14 07/10/2005
I stayed at SUNCAMP for a few months last winter , of course it,s in the country side and that,s what I like about it . when you pass all winter in the DOM.REP. you don,t go to the beach every day , so what I like is to mix with the local people who are very friendly and lear about there way of life , very interesting . I also like to climb the little mountain that is there , not very high , I would say about 750 meters but it,s perfect for me , in about 5 hours I get all the excersice my heart need for a week , I would like to invite people who like to climb like me to meet me at DIANE,S place in MUNOZ and I would be happy to be there gide . MUNOZ is also a great place to come if you like horse back riding . I like MUNOZ , it,s very friendly and peacefull . Emilio Gil
Author: emilio gil Posted at 14:26 07/9/2005
Je demeure en republique dominicaine depuis maintenant 4 ans. Je suis originaire du Quebec. Je suis dans la quarantaine. Je suis aussi le cousin de Diane. J'ai demeure a Suncamp ou Tropical House au moins deux ans dans ces 4 dernieres annees. J'en ai vu des locataires passes. Ca me fait drole de lire certains commentaires sur ce site. Bien sur, l'endroit n'est pas dote des facilites auxquelles nous sommes generalement habitues. Depaysement total garanti. Mais bon, si on voulait juste changer le decor, il faut venir en touristes et demeurer a l'hotel. Si on veut decouvrir la vie des dominicains, leur facon de penser, leurs us et coutumes, alors la, le domaine de Diane est une chance inouie. Vous croyez vraiment que le campesino dominicain se tient sur les plages de Playa Dorada, de Costambar ou de Sosua. Alors continuez de rever. Chez Diane, vous allez vivre dans le peuple et avec le peuple. Il y a des haitiens ! Il y a deux villages haitiens a moins d'un kilometre de chez elle. Ils sont huit mille a y vivre. Difficile de passer a cote, non! Et ils vivent dans des conditions pas toujours faciles. Comme partout en Republique d'ailleurs. Alors il faut faire comme les dominicains eux-memes et accepter ce fait. Il y a beaucoup a apprendre d'eux aussi. Quant au travail, j'ai bien aime ce commentaire qui dit qu'il vaut mieux ne pas mentionner le nom de Diane a Playa Dorada. C'est vrai. Elle a trouve tellement de travail a tellement de monde la-bas qui ont malheureusement laisse tomber apres une semaine ou deux que les employeurs sont un peu frileux. Ce n'est certes pas la faute de Diane. Elle a tout fait et fait encore plus que son possible pour aider les gens a trouver du travail. Mais bon, sortir d'un pays ou il fait froid et venir au paradis, pas certain que ca nous donne le gout de travailler. Il faut une discipline terrible. En conclusion, je vous dirai que vivre a Munoz est incroyablement enrichissant et nous fait decouvrir la vraie republique dominicaine. De plus, on y vit des experiences de solidarite humaine d'une incroyable intensite. Et ca, ca ne s'achete pas, ca se vit. J'y retourne d'ailleurs regulierement, pour me baigner a la riviere, voir des amis, ou alors rencontrer les derniers arrives. Qui sait si nous aurons la chance de partager nos phylosophies respectives un de ces quatre. Si vous avez le gout d'en jaser, ecrivez-moi sans probleme a [email protected]
Au plaisir et un grand merci a Diane d'etre ce qu'elle est, simple, humaine, avec un coeur grand comme ca, et bien sur, avec ses defauts ( qui n'en a pas ), et c'est pour ca qu'on l'aime et apprecie.
Author: Guy Posted at 16:05 07/8/2005
I stayed at Diane's place for 6wks a little while ago and absolutely loved it! Yes, it is rustic and gives you a real taste of countryside DR life which is what I was looking for! Sorry to hear such a negative review from '[email protected]'! Obviously you are not the adventurous type! Diane was a wonderful host to me and helped me out whenever I needed a hand... either with the language and even when I may have needed a ride into town. Her place was such a great place to be. It is on such a gorgeous setting... a beautiful fresh water river below, beautiful flowers, and friendly people from around the world. I learned alot about Munoz (the village where Diane's place is located) and the way of everyday life of the locals... the REAL locals. Sure, it is out in the country with, what else, but dirt roads like every other countryside around the world. If you are looking for relaxing, inviting place to go and relax and get the real DR experience with tons of local flavor... this is the right place to go!!
Author: Carrie Posted at 15:37 07/8/2005
Author: Roger Doyon Posted at 15:35 07/8/2005
I stayed in Diane's place for 4 months last summer -- from April until August. I was a little intimidated at first, but very quickly found how nice and welcoming the people of Munoz are.

I am a very simple person. The decor, the bugs, the cold showers...Everything for me was a new experience. It's not a place for people looking for the tourist experience. But it is a great place for some people. Diane is a great person and she is very helpful. She was always there for me whenever I needed anything. The river is beautiful, the place is peaceful and the people are friendly and very quickly take you into their homes.

Transportation to and from Munoz is very easy and cheap in the daytime. I never had any problems..at night, it is a little more difficult because the Munoz cars do not run, but you can easily pay $200-300RD to one of the Munoz drivers to drive you in and then pick you up.

Everything else there was great. I loved the BBQs we would have once a week with all the other people staying there. I loved being able to jump into the river anytime to get away from the scorchig heat of the summer. I loved walking down the dirt road and being stopped every 2 minutes to chat...

If you have any questions, feel free to contact me at [email protected]
Author: Ashley Posted at 11:36 07/8/2005
I spent the entire summer at Suncamp last year and it was a wonderful experience which I will remember all of my life. I saw Ms Pellerin help a number of people find work, and for those who did not wish for it to be handed to them on a silver platter, VERY successfully. She has a lot of connections and she knows where to go, only she cannot help someone who is not willing to help themselves.

As for the accomadations, I would never trade my experience there for a "fenced off" tourist experience only a few miles away that cost thousands of dollars and never allows you to get to know the locals or to see the "real" DR. Everyone that worked for Ms Pellerin was extremely helpful, the quarters were very clean, and very safe, with bars on all doors and windows, and the friends I met there (also other folks who wanted a real experience of the country) were invaluable. There are taxis that go down the dirt road to Puerta Plata every few minutes. The locals in the little town always gave one a hearty welcome, and local food is prepared within walking distance, we had fun going out to eat in groups several times a week, and it cost pennies.

If we wanted to see the country by horseback or go out to many other expeditions, the folks at Suncamp helped you find the best local deal. If I ever go to that country again, I would most definitely go back, I think Diane Pellerin is one of the finest hosts to be found.

There are always "poor little rich kids" who cant do anything for themselves nor handle a new experience without someone holding their hand. Perhaps someone with no sense of adventure or independence should go to Suncamp. But for those who really want an experience with all the flavor of the beautiful DR and its wonderful people, this is the place to go.

Sophia Compton, California, USA
Author: sophia compton Posted at 17:58 07/7/2005
Not sure why so much negativity about Suncamp, however, I just got back from there last week. My stay was for 5 weeks, and I enjoyed every minute of them. Diane Pellerin is a wonderful lady and is very honest about her apartment rentals and answers questions truthfully. I did not expect much when I went there, but I was pleasantly surprised at the absolutely gorgeous surroundings... Mountains, river, peace, etc..

Suncamp is a wonderful place located about 15 minutes from Puerto Plata. The dirt road is what takes the most time to drive, but what do you expect in a tropical country? If the rest of the world would stop expecting so much, maybe we could appreciate things a little more. I don't know who this person is trashing Suncamp, but they obviously have some sort of chip on their shoulder.

Everything mentioned above is lies, nothing but pure lies. If you need to contact me for more truthful information, please email me anytime. [email protected] www.suncampdr.com
Author: Ryan Posted at 22:59 06/22/2005
I was there too not many weeks ago, stupid I was - I replied to an ad in a Canadian newspaper where she promise work if you rent an apartment 1 month minimum from her.
All is just a fake, nothing was prepared for me, not one meeting.
I understand I can not be employed without arriving and meet people, and that is what she promised me, to arrange meetings and talk to ALL HER CONTACTS. Bullshit, she told me later on arrival I cannot say her name in Playa Dorada because they dont like her there! Yet she has in her ad she is located 2 km across Playa Dorada where she assists in work.
Dont believe in anything that is connected to this lady.
This is the year of 2005 and its time for this one to grow up and take responsibilaty for her actions. I did, I left that place, live in the city, have work in a bar and live in a CLEAN place close to everything.
Her place might be 2 km, but on a DIRTROAD with NO transportation. From the city, where I live, it might be 4 km (Atlantico ) but I get to Playa Dorada in 5 minutes with many different transportations to chose from.
Dont waste your time on Ms Pellerin!
Author: r Posted at 16:08 02/24/2005

Post comment

 

Message Boards  Classifieds  News Archive  Travel  Business  Living  Legal

The contents of this webpage are copyright 1996-2007.  DR1. All Rights Reserved.